GIUFFRIA – Silk & Steel [Japan SHM-CD Remastered +1]

GIUFFRIA - Silk & Steel [Japan SHM-CD Remastered +1] full

After several requests, here’s GIUFFRIA two albums released some time ago in Japan pressed on high quality SHM-CD, and featuring Carboard Sleeve miniLP replica of the original artwork, fully remastered, and in this case, including a bonus track.
Second album “Silk & Steel” is another awesome slice of pure AOR / Melodic Hard rock delivered by Giuffria, a must have for any fan of the genre.

“Silk & Steel” came two years after debut and featured new guitarist Lanny Cordola (instead of Craig Goldy, who went to Dio) and bassist David Sikes (who took over from Chuck Wright, who returned to Quiet Riot).
Produced by Pat Glasser – who was at the time also the producer of Giuffria’s MCA labelmates Night Ranger – the sound here combined melodic gems (Silk) and edgy rockers (Steel).
The uber melodic elements of debut are retained, many times compared with Journey.

The grandiose ‘No Escape’ starts with helicopter effects before exploding into a great rocking piece with a super chorus, while the hit ‘I Must Be Dreaming’ is one of my favorite Giuffria songs ever (although it’s a cover).
‘Radio’ is a true melodic hard rocker plenty of edge, as well as the the glammy ‘Lethal Lover’ and the raunchy ‘Dirty Secrets’.
Then ‘Tell It Like It Is’ is pure class AOR, elegant and polished, and the intense ‘Change of Heart’ is another winner.

The sound on Guiffria’s second effort is much more polished & slick than the debut, and I love this classic mid-Eighties glossy production.
While the album was criticized by the specialized press back in the day for being too much commercial, nowadays is recognized as a true ’80s AOR / Melodic Hard gem.

GIUFFRIA - Silk & Steel [Japan SHM-CD Remastered +1] back

This Japanese SHM-CD remastering sounds incredible, featuring as bonus track the excellent ‘Say It Ain’t True’, one of the tracks Giuffria composed for the Gotcha! movie soundtrack,
As occurs with the first album, these Japanese SHM-CD editions are out of print now. However, seems there’s few remaining copies of this 2016 re-press, so if you can find a copy of this one you’ll not regret it.


01 – No Escape
02 – Love You Forever
03 – I Must Be Dreaming
04 – Girl
05 – Change Of Heart
06 – Radio
07 – Heartache
08 – Lethal Lover
09 – Tell It Like It Is
10 – Dirty Secrets
11 – Say It Ain’t True

David Glen Eisley – vocals, harmonica
Lanny Cordola – guitar, backing vocals
Gregg Giuffria – keyboards, backing vocals, vocoder
David Sikes – bass, backing vocals
Alan Krigger – drums


Try Here:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.