GREAT MASTER – Montecristo (2023)

GREAT MASTER - Montecristo (2023) - full

At the end of September Italians GREAT MASTER will release their new album “Montecristo”, a concept work made up of 13 songs that will take the listener through the epic story of the protagonist of the famous novel by Alexandre Dumas “The Count of Monte Cristo”. This book is among our favorites, a timeless story and as classic as it gets, and just as important as Dumas’ creation of the three musketeers legacy.
GREAT MASTER has done a great work adapting the story to a metal epic, with stupendous lyrics ans a powerful polished sound. “Montecristo” has been mixed and mastered by renowned Simone Mularoni, so expect quality all over.
From the very first notes of the album, it becomes evident that “Montecristo” is a meticulously crafted work of art. The production is nothing short of pristine, with each instrument and vocal line standing out vividly in the mix. This attention to detail allows the listener to fully immerse themselves in the album’s sonic landscape, where every element plays a crucial role in delivering the band’s message.

Singer Stefano Sbrignadello is one of the highlights here delivering a compelling performance. The vocal range displayed throughout the album is awe-inspiring, effortlessly soaring from melodic verses to powerful, high-octave choruses without forgetting his charming lower register. It’s a masterclass in emotive singing that draws the listener into the heart of the album’s narrative. Stefano also plays the flute in this record, and the flute melodies are not just an embellishment; they are an integral part of the album’s identity, elevating it to a level of uniqueness rarely seen in metal.

But what truly sets “Montecristo” apart is the captivating storytelling, so much so that is quite impossible to stop the record once it starts. The orchestrations that envelop the album, provided by keyboardist Giorgio Peccenini, are divine. Each track feels like a cinematic journey, with symphonic elements adding depth and grandeur to the band’s already powerful sound.
The interplay between guitars, drums, and the symphony is a testament to Great Master‘s ability to seamlessly fuse metal and classical music. You will most likely fall down your chair when listening to “Man From The East“, which is full of oriental and Eastern sounds.

Furthermore, “Montecristo” represents a very solid piece of work in terms of its concept and thematic depth. The album’s narrative is a captivating tale of heroism, tragedy, and redemption, mirroring the emotional peaks and valleys of the music itself. The lyrics, excellence by Gianluca Carlini, are not just words but an integral part of the album’s soul, adding layers of meaning and complexity to the listening experience. I had goosebumps while listening to “On October 5th“, the track that closes the concept (but not the album).

In conclusion, “Montecristo” by Great Master is a metal opus that shines in the genre’s crowded landscape. It’s musically varied, telling a great story, and it’s very well produced / mixed.
Highly Recommended


01 – Le Pharaon
02 – Back Home
03 – The Left Hand Joke
04 – Where The Shame Lives
05 – I Am The Master
06 – Your Fall Will Come
07 – Nest Of Stone
08 – My Name
09 – Man From The East
10 – The Weak Point
11 – Final Revenge
12 – On October 5th (Wait And Hope)
13 – Montecristo

Stefano Sbrignadello (vocals)
Jahn Carlini (guitar)
Manuel Menin (guitar)
Giorgio Peccenini (keys)
Massimo David (bass)
Denis Novello (drums)


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.