38 SPECIAL – Special Delivery [Japan Limited Edition / SHM-CD remastered] HQ *Exclusive*

38 SPECIAL - Special Delivery [Japan Limited Edition / SHM-CD remastered] (2018) full

As requested, here’s the excellent – now out of print – remastered Japanese release of 38 SPECIAL rocking and melodious second album “Special Delivery“, using the original US analog master tapes and pressed on high quality SHM-CD. It’s all done in wonderful cardboard sleeve mini LP replica, which also faithfully replicates the OBI design of the Japanese first pressing LP.
38 SPECIAL music isn’t easy to remaster even with modern technology, because the band’s harmonics are absolutely ‘analog’ and the digital treatment may destroy part of the charm. But the clarity and warm of this remaster is impressive.

38 Special’s sophomore release “Special Delivery” produced by ex-Edgar Winter Group bassist / singer Dan Hartman started to showcase the band’s approach to more melodious, commercial sound.
While the album was a moderate success, it planted the seeds of 38 Special’s blend of Southern Rock with radio friendly melodic rock & pop. Think about it, there weren’t many bands playing these mix of styles at the end of the Seventies, except Blackfoot, Molly Hatchet, and 38 Special.

“I’m A Fool For You” is catchy as hell, “Turnin’ To You” brings to mind Peter Frampton arena rock of the era, while ‘Travelin’ Man’ is plenty of a ZZ Top feeling with a super guitar work.
The very commercial and radiable midtempo ballad ‘What Can I Do’ is a clear indication of the 38 Special sound to come, while the rockin ‘Who’s Been Messin’ is full of bluesy mojo.
There’s a fun, foot-tapping riff in ‘Can’t Keep A Good Man Down’, and they end the LP with the lovely, acoustically based ballad ‘Take Me Back’, one of my favorites.

38 SPECIAL - Special Delivery [Japan Limited Edition / SHM-CD remastered] (2018) back

As happens with all these fresh 2018 Japanese remasters on SHM-CD from the 38 Special series, the sound quality is simply outstanding. Everything is crisp, pristine clear, not distorted, with a perfect dynamic range.
Specially in this second album of the band – considering the age of the recording – the results obtained with the remastering job are truly remarkable.
Great slice of pure, timeless Classic Rock.
Highly Recommended / 0dayrox exclusive



01 – I’m A Fool For You
02 – Turnin’ To You
03 – Travelin’ Man
04 – I Been A Mover
05 – What Can I Do
06 – Who’s Been Messin’
07 – Can’t Keep A Good Man Down
08 – Take Me Back

Donnie Van Zant – vocals
Don Barnes – guitar, vocals
Jeff Carlisi – guitar, steel guitar, slide guitar
Terry Emery – percussion, piano
Larry Junstrom – bass guitar
Jack Grondin – drums
Steve Brookins – drums
Billy Powell – piano (tracks 1 & 8)


Sold Out:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.