INITIAL KICK – Plays With Mercury (2023)

ANGEL - Once Upon A Time (2023) - full

Philadelphia-based band INITIAL KICK helmed by Steve E. Ojane (Angel) on lead vocals and Frankie Schaffer (Hurricane Jane) on lead guitar formed over a decade ago with a collective passion for the theatrical anthem rock the members had all grown up on. Driven by the influences of KISS, Mott The Hoople, Hanoi Rocks, Alice Cooper, T. Rex, and David Bowie, the boys seek to bring their own voice to the genre of arena rock with their hook-laden tunes.

Their debut album ”Plays With Mercury” is a love letter to rock and roll, mixing pop-rock with hard rock riffs and glam melodies. Steve Ojane replaced bassist Felix Robinson in the legendary 70s Pomp band Angel in 2018 and has recorded on their Billboard charting comeback album ‘Risen’ and latest release ‘Once Upon A Time’.
During the pandemic Steve found the time to finally finish up the decade in the making ”Plays With Mercury”. Among the guests on the CD are guitarist Richie Ranno (Starz), Charlie Calv (Angel) on keyboards, Damian MonteCarlo (MonteCarlo) on drums, and more.

The album features 12 tracks including a cover of The Archies “Sugar Sugar”, and the first single “Tranquilizer” featured on the movie soundtrack for the award-winning film ‘Boxanne’.
This is a fun ode to Seventies glam-pop, with some glitter here and there, at places with an early Nineties sound, some rocking guitar riffs and nice hooks.
Cool stuff


01 – On The Inside
02 – Tomorrow And Forever
03 – Wish You Well (Once Upon A Time)
04 – Tranquilizer
05 – Sotheby’s Wasteland (It’s A Mall World After All)
06 – Me And Rock And Roll
07 – Sloane Road Kids
08 – ’93
09 – At Home With The Animals
10 – Sugar Sugar
11 – Big In Singapore
12 – Rock And Roll Saved My Life

Steve E. Ojane – lead vocals, bass
Frankie Schaffer – guitars
Richie Ranno (Starz) – guitar
Charlie Calv (Angel) – keyboards
Billy Orrico – drums
Damian MonteCarlo – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.