WITHIN TEMPTATION – Bleed Out [full album] (2023) *HQ*

WITHIN TEMPTATION - Bleed Out [full album] (2023) *HQ* - full

Renowned Dutch symphonic metal band WITHIN TEMPTATION are set to captivate fans with their eighth studio album ”Bleed Out” on October 20, 2023. ”Bleed Out” signifies a bold leap forward for the band; from contemporary, hard-hitting riffs to soaring melodies displaying their symphonic roots, Within Temptation have created a sonic journey that fuses diverse musical styles and thought-provoking themes.
This is an album that is as epic as it is unflinchingly outspoken, and now more than ever, this is a band who aren’t afraid to make a stand on issues they care about. Whilst songs such as “Wireless” and “We Go To War” examine the authoritarian aggression on display in Ukraine and other warzones, the title track itself addresses the plight of women fighting for their rights in Iran after the murder of Mahsa Amini.
Embracing a new era of musical exploration and lyrical depth, Within Temptation have pushed boundaries and showcase here their artistic evolution, delivering a fist-in-the-air proclamation of both their moral convictions and their fearless approach to music.
Within Temptation’s new album ”Bleed Out” is their most fired up to date, proving there’s much more to them than just being “the symphonic band”… While their last record, ‘Resist’, blew their sound up to supercharged proportions, just one listen of ”Bleed Out” is enough to confirm that this is Within Temptation’s biggest, heaviest record so far.

Opener Go To War sets the tone with a colossal guitar part and an apocalyptic choir, a chorus dripping in grandeur, and a marriage of synths with the unmistakable mechanical judder of tech metal. The title track follows in the same vein, anthemic and cinematic, with hints of the epic symphonic and gothic doom of their earlier material.
It all sounds huge – built to fill the massive rooms the band have become accustomed to playing these days.
Within Temptation are reluctant to call this a “political” album, but there’s no doubt it’s their most socially aware yet, far removed from the fantastical tendencies of old. Go To War, Cyanide Love, Worth Dying For and Wireless directly reference the Russian invasion of Ukraine. Cyanide Love is a bit of a departure with den Adel sounding flirty and sensual luring you in with all her feminine wiles but there’s an air danger too.

The Purge’ is dark with some heavy synths and a huge bassline then we get the massive Don’t Pray For Me which is about a woman’s right to choose. Shed My Skin is another huge rocker featuring two fella’s from Annisokay, then ‘Unbroken’ gets the symphony going again before they save the best until last and that’s saying something – Entertain You is a full on statement of intent and a massive middle finger raised to anyone who wants to control you or take advantage of you.

This is probably the heaviest release from Within Temptation, with some heavy topics to deal with, but boy can they write a catchy melody too. For me star of the show is Sharon, her voice is stunning, perfect and she can show emotion, rage, passion, love and any other emotion at will.
The band behind her are incredible but nobody overplays – they just make the most wonderful noise behind her – tight and right on the money every time. Every song is a winner, there’s nothing on here that is not a world class tune.
Highly Recommended


01 – We Go To War
02 – Bleed Out
03 – Wireless
04 – Worth Dying For
05 – Ritual
06 – Cyanide Love
07 – The Purge
08 – Don’t Pray For Me
09 – Shed My Skin (feat. Annisokay)
10 – Unbroken
11 – Entertain You

Sharon den Adel – lead vocals
Robert Westerholt – rhythm guitar
Jeroen van Veen – bass
Martijn Spierenburg – keyboards
Ruud Jolie – lead guitar
Mike Coolen – drums


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.