HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS – Fore! +8 [Japan UHQCD / MQA mini LP remastered] (2023) HQ *Exclusive*

HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS - Fore! +8 [Japan UHQCD / MQA mini LP remastered] (2023) HQ *Exclusive* - full

The sweet 80s pop/rock sound of San Francisco’s HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS has sadly gone silent in recent years due to its one-of-a-kind frontman’s battle with Ménière’s disease, which causes intermittent hearing loss. But a surprise new reissue campaign courtesy of Universal Music Group’s Japanese division promises the most comprehensive look at the band’s blockbuster catalogue.
These new remasters, expanded reissues are sourced from new DSD masters from original U.S. analog tapes, transferred in 24-bit high definition and feature CD-sized reprints of the original inner LP sleeves and Japanese obi strips, all pressed on high-fidelity UHQCD / MQA discs. The outer jackets have been replicated as well.
And now we are featuring in exclusive the chart buster ”Fore!”, originally released on August 20, 1986. The album was a commercial success, peaking at number one on the Billboard 200. This record was the 1986 summer soundtrack for many and went on to score five top-ten Billboard Hot 100 singles, including the number-one hits, “Stuck with You” and “Jacob’s Ladder”.
Fore! +8 [Japan UHQCD / MQA mini LP remastered]” includes eight bonus tracks, featuring B-sides, 12″ mixes and rare live tracks – and of course the chart-topper “The Power of Love”, originally from the soundtrack of the 1985 film Back to the Future.

This, right here, may be Huey Lewis’ most accomplished album. It has a clear, crisp sound, and a sheen of consummate professionalism, that really gives the songs a big boost.
Following up their 1983 breakthrough, the multiplatinum ‘Sports’, was never going to be an easy task, so they waited three years before unleashing their fourth album, the cleverly titled “Fore”. Like its predecessor, Fore topped the charts and contained multiple Top 10 hits.
The bouncy pop nugget “Stuck With You” was the perfect choice for lead-off single and went straight to #1, while its follow-up, “Hip To Be Square,” was nearly as successful. The former is a perfect late-summer song, augmented by a memorable video that is pure ‘80s, while the latter is just plain goofy fun.
Bruce Hornsby & his brother John co-wrote album opener “Jacob’s Ladder,” a melodic rocker with lyrics critical of TV evangelists that also topped the charts. Hornsby recorded his own version two years later.

“Whole Lotta Lovin’” never fails to make me smile, as Huey eagerly (and humorously) awaits his lover’s return: “Late last night I read the letter you sent, woke up this morning under a tent.” The Tower Of Power horn section shines on several tracks, including the aforementioned “Hip To Be Square,” album closer “Simple As That” and the last Top 10 single from the album, “Doin’ It All For My Baby.”
The a capella nugget “Naturally” is undisputed evidence of the band’s vocal prowess. The only thing that could have improved this album was the inclusion of “The Power Of Love” from the previous year’s Back To The Future movie & soundtrack. The international release of the album did just that, even inserting it into the middle of the record.

Huey Lewis & The News might be forever tied to the ‘80s in the eyes of many people but, to our ears, their music is timeless fun, feel-good rock&pop.
This 2023 remaster on UHQCD / MQA disc is fabulous.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


UICY~40399 【UHQCD / MQA】

01 – Jacob’s Ladder
02 – Stuck With You
03 – Whole Lotta Lovin’
04 – Doing It All For My Baby
05 – Hip To Be Square
06 – I Know What I Like
07 – I Never Walk Alone
08 – The Power of Love
09 – Forest For The Trees
10 – Naturally
11 – Simple As That
12 – Back In Time
13 – Jacob’s Ladder (Step by Step) (Special Radio Mix)
14 – Hip To Be Square (Dance Mix)
15 – The Power of Love (Long Version)
16 – Back in Time (Extended Mix)
17 – Hip To Be Square (Dub Mix)
18 – It’s All Right (Live)
19 – Jacob’s Ladder (Live in Portland, OR 12/18/86)

Huey Lewis – vocals
Johnny Colla – guitar, saxophone, backing vocals
Chris Hayes – guitar, backing vocals
Mario Cipollina – bass
Bill Gibson – percussion, drums, backing vocals
Sean Hopper – keyboards, synths, backing vocals



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Any plan on these near future following HUEY LEWIS & THE NEWS – Hard At Play +1 [Japan UHQCD / MQA mini LP remastered] (2023)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.