In Memory of DAN McCAFFERTY – No Turning Back (2023)

In Memory of DAN McCAFFERTY - No Turning Back (2023) - full

In the annals of rock music, there are few singers who have such an expressive voice as DAN McCAFFERTY. As the charismatic frontman of the Scottish band NAZARETH, McCafferty has been involved in more than 25 albums, released hits such as ‘Love Hurts’, ‘Dream On’, ‘This Flight Tonight’ and ‘Morning Dew’ and toured all over the world. After a unique career of 50 years, Dan McCafferty passed away on November 8, 2022 at the age of 76. His name will be remembered, his great songs will continue to be played on countless rock radio stations around the world.
Undiscovered musical treasures were kept in McCafferty’s private home archives. Some of them can now be found on the posthumous homage: ‘No Turning Back – In Memory of Dan McCafferty‘.
The previously unreleased songs “Occident” and “No Turning Back” are original recordings from the late 1990s that McCafferty recorded with German director, composer and music producer Christoph Busse. The previously unreleased track ‘Children’s Eyes’ is the result of a collaboration with composer and producer Detlef Wiedeke. All three tracks show the stylistically enormous range of his rough rock voice.
All these, especially the latter, have a distinctive AOR feeling, as well as the included songs from McCafferty’s 1987 hard to find solo album.

With ‘Into the Ring’, ‘Starry Eyes’ and ‘Sunny Island’, three pieces from a particularly eventful career phase of the Scottish musician follow. The songs were released in 1987 on his now long out-of-print solo album “Into the Ring”. The album was created between the two Nazareth classics “Cinema” (1986) and “Snakes’n’Ladders” (1989).

“In Memory of Dan McCafferty” is rounded off with “Going Home” from 1993 and from the eponymous album of the short-lived project Seasons, with original Scottish instruments. The song is based on the piece “Largo” from the 9th Symphony “From the New World” by Antonín Dvoák.
There are also two recent cover versions of the Nazareth evergreens ‘Love Hurts’ and ‘Dream On’ as bonus tracks, sung by Greek singer Panos Kalifis, whose vocal colour is strikingly similar to McCafferty’s.

Last but not least, the album cover features a photo of a young Dan McCafferty. “No Turning Back – In Memory of Dan McCafferty” is a musical must-have for every McCafferty / Nazareth and classic rock / hard rock / ’80s AOR fan.
Highly Recommended


01 – Children’s Eyes (previously unreleased)
02 – Into the Ring
03 – Starry Eyes
04 – Sunny Island
05 – Occident (previously unreleased)
06 – No Turning Back (previously unreleased)
07 – Going Home
08 – Love Hurts (Nazareth cover – sung by Panos Kalifis)
09 – Dream On (Nazareth cover – sung by Panos Kalifis)

Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.