CHANGE OF HEART – Continuum +1 [Escape Music 2024 reissue] *HQ*

CHANGE OF HEART - Continuum [ reissue +1] full

Fortunately Escape Music is reissuing long time out of print albums from their catalog, and one that deserve to be heard by all classic Melodic Rock aficionados is CHANGE OF HEART‘s “Continuum“, now including the hard to find original Japanese edition bonus track.
“Continuum” is Change Of Hearts’ second album and for many, it’s regarded as their best, combining the British AOR waves of their debut and adding a catchy Melodic Rock feel. To achieve this more ‘rocking’ approach the band band worked with Kenny Kaos (Pokerface, Distance) to record a twelve track album that was laden with hooks and melodies galore.

After the smooth, short instrumental intro ‘Call to Prayer’, ‘Blinded’ is one of the most infectious melodic rockers the band have recorded driven by sharp AOR guitars. ‘Don’t Wanna Be Lonely’ is a huge melodic anthem with a monster hook which reminds me Danger Danger.
‘Love Got In The Way’ is a very classy Heartland-style moody AOR ballad, then ‘You Can’t Hide’ is one of my picks for song of the album. A semi-ballad of sorts, but uptempo and very emotional with a killer vocal and extra vocal hooks to add that extra power to the song in the vein of Strangeways.

‘Call Of The Wild’ is a more keyboard driven mid-tempo track with a couple of lead guitar breaks and a slightly rockier chorus. ‘Take Me For A Ride’ is a very ’80s AOR track, typical British style with another huge chorus.

‘Hand On My Heart’ starts laid back with a nice acoustic guitar/piano feel, but the chorus take the song to another level, then ‘Mysteries’ is a mid-paced happy rocker with equal guitar and keyboard parts. There is just something about this track that reminds me of mid ’80s Survivor.

Easily one of the best Melodic Rock / AOR albums appeared during the Melodic Rock / AOR resurgence, Change Of Heart’s “Continuum” is primo mid-80s style commercial AOR with an equal mix of keyboards, guitars and glorious vocals / choruses.
Don’t miss this reissue including the excellent original Japanese edition bonus track ‘(When Are You) Coming Home’.


01 – Call to Prayer
02 – Blinded
03 – Don’t Wanna Be Lonely
04 – When Love Gets in the Way
05 – You Can’t Hide
06 – Call of the Wild
07 – Take Me for a Ride
08 – Hands on Heart
09 – Say That You Want Me
10 – Love on the Line
11 – Run from the Storm
12 – Mysteries
13 – (When Are You) Coming Home [original Japan bonus track]

Alan Clark: lead vocals
John Footit: guitars
Dave Chapman: keyboards, vocals
Gary Howe: bass
Trevor Hart: drums



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Hi, the link is broken. Please, put another one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.