STEVE PERRY – For The Love Of Strange Medicine [Japan Ltd. mini LP remastered +5] Out of Print

STEVE PERRY - For The Love Of Strange Medicine [Japan Ltd. mini LP remastered +5] Out of Print - full

Here’s STEVE PERRY second and final effort from his first solo era; “For The Love Of Strange Medicine“, in its Japanese Ltd. mini-LP release including several bonus tracks – now out of print.
Between his smash hits with Journey and his Street Talk solo record, Steve Perry spent much of the ’80s dominating radio’s rock and Top 40 formats, not to mention MTV. So when he lapsed into a prolonged hiatus following Journey’s breakup after 1986’s Raised on Radio LP, it came as something of a surprise. As the ’80s wore on into the ’90s, Perry went from arena-filling rock star to rarely seen recluse.
But even if he was working at a slower pace than fans may have liked, Perry hadn’t walked away from music, and he proved it with the July 19, 1994, release of his second solo effort, “For The Love Of Strange Medicine”.

The sessions found Perry working with a new band whose ranks included keyboardist Paul Taylor (late of Winger), guitarist Lincoln Brewster (who was plucked from obscurity through his association with Perry’s friend and former bassist Randy Jackson), and young drummer Moyes Lucas.
All musicians co-wrote many of the songs and contributed backing vocals, working as true band more than a ‘solo artist’ production.

Of course Top names from the industry are also involved into the recording, such as Toto’s Mike Porcaro playng bass, Phil Brown (Fiona, Van Stephenson), exquisite guitarist Michael Landau, Tim Miner and more.
Surprisingly, despite the melodic nature of the album, half the songs are produced by James “Jimbo” Barton, known for his work with metal acts mostly.

The CD mix uptempo melodic rockers with elaborated midtempo rock&pop songs, all commanded by the soulful, heartfelt, beautiful clear voice of Perry.
Opener ‘You Better Wait’ was a successful single despite the musical climate in 1994 (certified gold), and ‘Young Hearts Forever’ is a wonderful tune co-written with master Clif Magness.
These are the most commercial songs on the album, but in the inside tracks we find some real gems.

The title cut ‘For the Love of Strange Medicine’ is another blockbuster with great song structure, lyrical content and more, ‘Donna Please’ is an emotional, gorgeous and just another top-notch song.
One treat you will get here is both the original version and the Live version (bonus track) of ‘Missing You’, where you can hear how good crooner Perry is.

STEVE PERRY - For The Love Of Strange Medicine [Japan Ltd. mini LP remastered +5] back

‘Somewhere There’s Hope’ is a true show-stopper for me – reaches into your guts and rips them out. He hits highs and lows that echo off your soul.
And then there’s the record’s pensive closing track, ‘Anyway’ a song Perry admitted was inspired by Journey’s demise, an acknowledgement and emotional nod to his former band mates.

This remastered version of “For The Love Of Strange Medicine” is the one to treasure. It has a great balanced sound and juicy bonuses, two B-sides from ‘You Better Wait +4′ CDsingle’, a couple of good previously unreleased and that killer live version of ‘Missing You’ – even better than the studio take.
Highly Recommended


01 – You Better Wait
02 – Young Hearts Forever
03 – I Am
04 – Stand Up (Before It’s Too Late)
05 – For The Love Of Strange Medicine
06 – Donna Please
07 – Listen To Your Heart
08 – Tuesday Heartache
09 – Missing You
10 – Somewhere There’s Hope
11 – Anyway
12 – If You Need Me, Call Me
13 – One More Time
14 – Can’t Stop
15 – Friends Of Mine
16 – Missing You [Live in San Francisco]

12 – from FTLOSM sessions. Re-recorded track of Perry’s pre-Journey band, ‘Alien Project’.
13 – from FTLOSM sessions, outtake
both tracks only appeared on ‘You Better Wait +4’ CDsingle, 1994.

14 – Can’t Stop (previously unreleased)
15 – Friends Of Mine (previously unreleased)
both tracks from ‘Against The Wall’, the unfinished album from 1988

16.Missing You [Live in San Francisco] (previously unreleased)

Steve Perry – vocals
Lincoln Brewster – guitars, background vocals
Paul Taylor – keyboards, background vocals
Moyes Lucas – drums, background vocals
Larry Kimpel – bass
Mike Porcaro – bass
Phil Brown – bass
Tim Miner – bass, piano, keyboards, background vocals
Dallas Symphony Orchestra
Michael Landau – guitars on “Anyway”
Alexander Brown, Carmen Carter, Jean McClain – backing vocals


Out Of Print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.