tAKiDA – The Agony Flame (2024)

tAKiDA - The Agony Flame (2024) - full

In the modern world of Rock music there are acts that simply standout in the crowd, and Sweden’s tAKiDA one of them. Formed twenty-five years ago, the name may not be too well-known to an international audience, but within Sweden, tAKiDA has dominated the Rock scene for quite some time now. In fact, they have earned six platinum singles (one which went four times platinum), three platinum selling albums, as well as five #1 albums.
Very impressive, it has to leave those who know little about the band curious – What is all the buzz about? Well, in truth tAKiDA are really quite diverse in many regards.
Mixing Hard Rock, some dark Metal, Pop Rock, their discography since 2006 has been varied. Writing often very catchy Modern Hard Rock tunes, some may look to compare them to successful North American bands like Nickelback, but honestly, tAKiDA are still something different.
The Agony Flame” is the upcoming tAKiDA new album with the potential to make them international stars. The CD embodies the distinctive, unmistakable tAKiDA sound, modern rock but rich in melody with infectious, huge choruses.

A band that has always had a propensity to write thoughtful, and at times sorrowful songs, what they bring with ”The Agony Flame” is something vastly different. Here they tune down the more Pop Rock friendly guitar sounds of prior efforts and go for a very much more dark pop-rock-hard sound. An interesting hybrid.
”The Agony Flame” is driven by heavily moody and melancholic compositions. With that, the guitars (Tomas Wallin and Mattias Larsson) are gritty and melodic, even with elements of retro Metal amidst the riffs, as well with some stunning guitar solos.
This is while the keyboards (Chris Rehn) are beautifully placed for a richer atmosphere of gloom; either when above or beneath the distorted guitars. Beyond these attributes, Robert Pettersson vocals sound more haunting than ever before. This time around he showcases deep sorrow, moments of aggression, and everything in-between. In enough words, it could be his best vocal performance to date on any studio album just because of how deeply felt the emotion is within each word sung.

Outlining this, we are led to the glue that brings this all together… the production at the hands of Rehn and Pettersson. Nothing less than flawless, the subtle aspects of each song shines; and this includes everything from the various layering of vocals, to the instrumental textures. Each having their own place in the mix, the result is a record that you can turn up and be engulfed in each fully without hesitation.

Clearly a bold moment in the career of tAKiDA, within the eleven songs that make up ”The Agony Flame” there are really no dull moments. A matter of fact, each track has its own unique quality that keeps you engaged and yearning for more.
This is the case with the lead single “The Loneliest Hour,” which became the band’s biggest radio hit, but also others like “Third Strike,” “Scared Spell,” “Sickening,” among others.

Overall, tAKiDA shatters any preconceived notions of who and what they are with the creation of ”The Agony Flame”. It is accessible enough to please long-time fans, but also something that should not be overlooked by other genres listeners.
Highly Recommended


01 – Third strike
02 – The other side
03 – Sacred spell
04 – In time
05 – Your blood awaits you
06 – Nothing but a misplace
07 – The loneliest hour
08 – Sickening
09 – Isolated (smoke & mirrors)
10 – On the line
11 – Second fiddle

Robert Pettersson – vocals
Tomas Wallin – guitars
Mattias Larsson – guitars
Kristoffer Söderström – drums
Chris Rehn – bass, keyboards, cello, violin


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.