ELECTRIC ANGELS – Electric Angels [Rock Candy remastered]

ELECTRIC ANGELS - Electric Angels [Rock Candy remastered] full

Here’s another really nice piece from the Rock Candy ‘Remastered & Reloaded‘ catalog: ELECTRIC ANGELS self-titled album, requested here some time ago.

The Electric Angels were during the ’80s just another name in the US glammy hard rock ring albeit with an intriguing past, having evolved from seminal glam act Candy (including in the line-up the talents of Kyle Vincent and Gilby Clarke) a short-lived group but which turned every hip-head in Los Angeles.

Signed to major label Atlantic Records and based in New York City, Electric Angels set about crafting an album – originally released in 1990 – produced by none other than Tony Visconti, a master mover & shaker who had previously guided the music of Thin Lizzy, David Bowie and Marc Bolan among other luminaires.
In an effort to soak up the original English glam rock vibe the album was recorded in London and remains a testament to their killer vision; a healthy dose of free-form Mott The Hoople diving head-long into the beer soaked energy of prime time Faces, all blended with a classic L.A. hard rock sound from the late ’80s.

Despite an album cover that makes you think of The Quireboys, “Electric Angels” feel actually recall an under-dose of Bret Michaels fronting a subdued L.A. Guns driven by the stupendous guitar work of Ryan Roxie, the axeman behind Alice Cooper several albums, Slash’s Ain’t Life Grand, Swedes’ Casablanca and many more.
It’s an authentic, honest rock ‘n roll record plenty of killer tracks such as “Rattlesnake Kisses”, “The Drinking Song” or “Whiplash”, all swaggerin’ tunes with clean yet punchy production.

ELECTRIC ANGELS - Electric Angels [Rock Candy remastered] back

Electric Angels were a very unique band with a very unique sound. Bluesy hard rocking enough to be real, glam enough to be fun, this album still remain as one from the era that still regularly visits my music player.
Even more now with this excellent Rock Candy remaster which has enhanced the deep low end plus giving more ‘air’ to the mix, at the same time retaining the original, lovely ‘analog’ vibe of the recording.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – I Believe
02 – Live In The City
03 – Rattlesnake Kisses
04 – Head Above Water
05 – Dangerous Drug
06 – True Love And Other Fairy Tales
07 – Last Girl On Earth
08 – Home Sweet Homicide
09 – Cars Crash
10 – All The Money
11 – Whiplash
12 – The Drinking Song

Shane: vocals
Ryan Roxie: guitars
Jonathan Daniel: bass
John Schubert: drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.