WALKWAY - WWIII (2017) full

Today we’re presenting at 0dayrox the world-premiere of “WWIII“, the new album from WALKWAY on physical CD. As its title suggest, it’s the third Walkway album, and one that will blow you Melodic Hard Rock mind.

It’s bleeding criminal how a band like Walkway can go virtually unnoticed in the UK, especially when they are as good as they are. Formed some 10 years ago, the band has released two albums and toured extensively in support of them, sharing the stage with notable acts such as Status Quo, The Darkness, Black Stone Cherry, Slade and many more.
Pretty much a do-it-yourself band, now Walkway drops their third studio album “WWIII”, and it rocks.

Walkway doesn’t take any prisoners, whether it’s in the recording of the album (just 13 days at Sonic One Studio in Wales and mastered at Abbey Road), or the songs themselves.
Walkway is based around the Ready brothers – Chris (guitar lead vocals) & James (lead guitar, backing vocals), plus Andy Burlace (drums and backing vocals). The subsequent output from these guys in nothing short of memorable.

Essentially, Walkway delivers, in the famous British tradition, classic melodic hard rock driven by hooky riffs, and then dropped into an AOR wrapper, all served with a modern sound. If you liked the last Degreed album, you’ll love “WWIII”.
Twin guitar harmony leads the way, with abundant and ambitious guitar solos following and flowing across the entire album. The sturdy and steady bass & drum section provide rousing rhythm and groove that keeps your toe-tapping and your head banging.

Chris Ready is an exceptional vocalist, singing strong and clean, never straining or over extending himself. The vocal harmonies are sweet and swelling and, in songs like ‘Casey’, ‘Kiss Me Hard’, ‘Mission Impossible’, or ‘Same Old Situation’ they can have a slight Def Leppard vibe.
Same influence can be heard within ‘Holding On To Letting Go’, a pleasant ballad and the most mellow song here, delivering some serious four-part, choral-like, harmony in the style of classic Leppard.

WALKWAY - WWIII (2017) inside

That’s to say that most every song comes on strong, hard and edgy at times, and always with melody.
Yet because Walkway can twist a riff, sweeten a vocal harmony, or cast a catchy refrain, the songs ooze with AOR accessibility and groove. Notable and fine examples come with ‘Best I Ever Had’, ‘Get A Grip’ or ‘Right Here Right Now’.
Perhaps the most AOR catchy song of the bunch is the aforementioned ‘Casey’, with that classy ’80s radio atmosphere.

As a bonus, and as tribute to late Status Quo singer Rick Parfitt, Walkway covers “Rain” with Status Quo’s John Coghlan handling the skins. We have also ‘Mission Impossible’ (previously released as standalone single) and a delicious acoustic take on ‘Holding On To Letting Go’.

To be honest, “WWIII” is as good as any major band release you’ll hear this year. The songs are great, melodic, performed with a swagger and an experience that only comes from constant touring.
If there’s any justice, more festival appearances should be on the cards for Walkway, as they would play to many more I’m guessing than playing 3-5 gigs a week in pubs up and down the UK. It’s certainly honing their quality, but they truly deserve to play in front of bigger audiences.
Walkway are going places, and it’s only in one direction…. up!

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – Stutter
02 – Best I Ever Had
03 – Get A Grip
04 – Casey
05 – Kiss Me Hard
06 – Modern Day
07 – Same Old Situation
08 – Holding On To Letting Go
09 – Leap Of Faith
10 – Right Here Right Now
11 – Something ‘Bout You
12 – Rain
13 – Mission Impossible
14 – Holding On To Letting Go [Acoustic]

Chris Ready – Vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards
James Ready – Lead guitar, backing vocals
Andy Burlace – Drums, backing vocals
John Coghlan (Status Quo) – guest Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.