SWEET CRYSTAL – Got Your Six + Power-N-Glory: Resurrected Masters (2018)

SWEET CRYSTAL - Got Your Six + Power-N-Glory: Resurrected Masters (2018) full

If there is a pioneer CCM Melodic Rock / AOR act in the emerging US scene during the 80s, that was SWEET CRYSTAL without a doubt. These veterans continue faithful to their brand of classic pomp-tastic sound in 2018 with their fresh new album “Got Your Six“.

In fact, “Got Your Six” features 6 songs taken from previous, most recent Sweet Crystal releases released while the band record nw material and to support a current tour.
Always lead by songwriter Marq Andrew Speck (lead vocals, keys), the album showcases Sweet Crystal’s current sound, more updated, with light progressive touches but still retaining its 80s pompy overtones.

Among the selections there’s the strong ‘Foot of the Cross’ driven by a thumping rhythm section, swirling classic keyboards and surprisingly sharp guitars, somehow bringing to mind British legends Magnum.

‘Warriors’ is a classy epic ballad, ‘In Your Name’ has a midtempo pace and vintage keyboards, while ‘Nothing Here (For You To Fear)’ is a remixed, remastered re-release from the movie “War Flowers” soundtrack, a ballad in the ol’ style a bit generic still enjoyable.

‘Can’t Turn Back’ is very melodic, a sweet lite proggy melodic tune akin Kansas.
I would have preferred a more uptempo section of songs to showcase Sweet Crystal’s dynamics, but don’t worry, all is quality material.
As you see in the song titles, Sweet Crystal lyrics are heavy on religious themes, but perfectly fit with the nature of the music.

SWEET CRYSTAL Power-N-Glory: Resurrected Masters

To make it even more complete, we have added the band’s cult 80s debut EP ‘Power-N-Glory’, in its Resurrected Masters version. The “lost” alternate mix master tape was rediscovered in a garage and painstakingly re-mastered. Lost but now found, ‘resurrected’.
It’s all Eighties pompy AOR stuff, very melodic, plenty of keys and with that ‘classy’ sound.
Highly Recommended

01 – Foot of the Cross
02 – Warriors
03 – Can’t Turn Back
04 – In Your Name
05 – Nothing Here (For You to Fear)
06 – Prisoner, Unbound

Power-N-Glory – Resurrected Masters :
07 – Power and the Glory
08 – Lead Me to the Rock
09 – Now or Never
10 – For Once in Your Lifetime
11 – Here, Now and Then
12 – Come On Over

Marq Andrew Speck – lead vocals, keys
Bill Blatter – vocals, guitars, bass
Steve Wieser – drums
07 to 12:
Marq Andrew Speck – lead vocals, anything with keys
Bill Blatter- harmony vocals, lead and rhythm guitars
Steve Wieser – drums
Lenny Clark – bass, additional lead & harmony vocals
Bob Rundell – additional lead & rhythm guitars


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.