PHIL COLLINS – Plays Well With Others [4-CD Box Set Japan Edition] (2018)

PHIL COLLINS - Plays Well With Others [4-CD Box Set Japan Edition] (2018) full

Warner Japan just released “Plays Well With Others” a new four-CD Box Set that shines a light on the collaborative work of PHIL COLLINS. “Plays Well With Others” features an incredibly broad array of music from a diverse range of artists including Robert Plant, Eric Clapton, Tears For Fears, Howard Jones, Paul McCartney, Adam Ant and more.

The title comes from a T-shirt gifted to the singer-songwriter and drummer by former Genesis touring drummer Chester Thompson, a nod to Collins’ willingness to perform with a wide variety of other artists.
The 59-track collection has been compiled by Collins, and he has this to say about it:
“Some would say I’ve lived a charmed life. I’ve done what I wanted for most of it, and got paid well for doing something I’d have done for nothing. Playing the drums.
During that time I’ve played with most of my heroes, most have become close friends. Over these 4 CD’s you’ll find a mere smattering of those moments.
I thank the artists for letting me put this CD together, no easy task! Love, PC”

“Plays Well With Others” certainly presents a rather disparate group of artists and recordings – with Collins as the common thread – but the work collected here is mightily impressive, when you consider that Collins would effectively do this work in his spare time, while not being in Genesis or having massive solo success with his own albums and singles.

The discs are split into eras, with the first CD covering the 1970s, more or less. The second disc represents most of the 1980s. Some of these collaborations are bound to come as a surprise to some fans.
I had missed the fact that Collins plays on Adam Ant‘s Puss ‘n’ Boots, although his work on the single version of Howard Jones‘ No One Is To Blame is fairly well known. Collins’ jibe at Paul McCartney hasn’t stopped him including Macca’s Press To Play album track Angry (with ‘our little Phil’ on drums) and it’s nice to see Tears For Fears‘ Woman In Chains (terrific song) remembered.

The ’90s and the ‘noughties’ work (on CD 3) is likely to be less familiar and includes collaborations with artists such as David Crosby and John Martyn. The one Genesis selection – No Son Of Mine from 1991’s We Can’t Dance – is a curious choice.
The final disc 4 concentrates on live performance, and ends with four tracks from Party at the Palace in 2002 – the Queen’s Golden Jubilee celebration. A reminder that from the mid ’80s onwards Collins was synonymous with The Big Concert Event, where ‘supergroups’ would form and perform, for charity or otherwise.

PHIL COLLINS - Plays Well With Others [4-CD Box Set Japan Edition] (2018) back

I don’t know you, but apart from his work with Genesis and rock&pop solo career, Phil Collins is an impressive drummer to me.
The box gathers material from his early days with the psychedelic band Flaming Youth in the ’60s and his celebrated ’70s work with Brand X, Brian Eno, Robert Fripp and John Cale to his ’80s super-stardom with Genesis and as a solo artist, as well as recordings with Robert Plant, Chaka Khan, Stephen Bishop and big-band collaborations with Quincy Jones.
An excllent retrospective all in one Box, fully remastered
Highly Recommended

Disc One: 1969 – 1982
1. “Guide Me Orion” – Flaming Youth
2. “Knights (Reprise)” – Peter Banks
3. “Don’t You Feel It” – Eugene Wallace
4. “I Can’t Remember, But Yes” – Argent
5. “Over Fire Island” – Brian Eno
6. “Savannah Woman” – Tommy Bolin
7. “Pablo Picasso” – John Cale
8. “Nuclear Burn” – Brand X
9. “No-One Receiving” – Brian Eno
10. “Home” – Rod Argent
11. “M386” – Brian Eno
12. “And So To F” – Brand X
13. “North Star” – Robert Fripp
14. “Sweet Little Mystery” – John Martyn
15. “Intruder” – Peter Gabriel
16. “I Know There’s Something Going On” – Frida
17. “Pledge Pin” – Robert Plant
18. “Lead Me To The Water” – Gary Brooker

Disc Two: 1982 – 1991
1. “In The Mood”‘ – Robert Plant
2. “Island Dreamer” – Al Di Meola
3. “Puss ‘n’ Boots” – Adam Ant
4. “Walking On The Chinese Wall” – Philip Bailey
5. “Do They Know It’s Christmas” – Band Aid
6. “Just Like A Prisoner” – Eric Clapton
7. “Because Of You” – Philip Bailey
8. “Watching The World” – Chaka Khan
9. “No One Is To Blame” – Howard Jones
10. “If Leaving Me Is Easy” – The Isley Brothers
11. “Angry” – Paul McCartney
12. “Loco In Acapulco’ – Four Tops
13. “Walking On Air” – Stephen Bishop
14. “Hall Light” – Stephen Bishop
15. “Woman In Chains” – Tears For Fears
16. “Burn Down The Mission” – Phil Collins

Disc Three: 1991 – 2011
1. “No Son Of Mine” – Genesis
2. “Could’ve Been Me” – John Martyn
3. “Hero” – David Crosby
4. “Ways To Cry” – John Martyn
5. “I’ve Been Trying” – Phil Collins
6. “Do Nothing ‘Till You Hear From Me” – Quincy Jones
7. “Why Can’t It Wait Til Morning” – Fourplay
8. “Suzanne” – John Martyn
9. “Looking For An Angel” – Laura Pausini
10. “Golden Slumbers / Carry That Weight – George Martin
11. “In The Air Tonite” – Lil’ Kim featuring Phil Collins
12. “Welcome” – Phil Collins
13. “Can’t Turn Back The Years” – John Martyn

Disc Four: LIVE 1981 – 2002
1. “In The Air Tonight” (Secret Policeman’s Ball) – Phil Collins
2. “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” – George Harrison
3. “You Win Again” – The Bee Gees
4. “There’ll Be Some Changes Made” – with Tony Bennett
5. “Stormy Weather” – Phil Collins and Quincy Jones
6. “Chips And Salsa” – The Phil Collins Big Band
7. “Birdland” – Phil Collins with The Buddy Rich Big Band
8. “Pick Up The Pieces” (Live At The Montreux Jazz Festival 1998)
9. “Layla” (Live at The Palace, 2002) – Eric Clapton
10. “Why” (Live at The Palace, 2002) – Annie Lennox
11. “Everything I Do” (Live at The Palace, 2002) – Bryan Adams
12. “With A Little Help From My Friends” (Live at The Palace, 2002) – Joe Cocker


You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Southern Rocker says:

    Please, would it be possible to have it uploaded on another server than usenet? Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.