KANSAS – Wheels And Other Rarities (2018)

KANSAS - Wheels And Other Rarities (2018) full

America’s preeminent progressive rock band, KANSAS, are touring select cities in the United States and Canada, expanding the celebration of the 40th Anniversary of their massive hit album Point Of Know Return. For the first time in history, the band is performing the LP in its entirety. The tour showcases more than two hours of classic Kansas music including hit songs, deep cuts, and fan favorites.
Speaking of ‘deep cuts’ and rarities, a new Kansas compilation has just been released yesterday under the title “Wheels And Other Rarities”.

Among the hard to find tracks included here are “Wheels”, the new song composed by Steve Walsh & Kerry Livgren especially recorded for the Kansas Boxed Set appeared in 1994 and never released into any other album.

Also we find the rare remixes of the band’s classic ‘Carry On Wayward Son’ and ‘The Wall (Remix)’, a very good quality demo of ‘Can I Tell You (Demo)’, and ‘Perfect Lover’, written by then-lead vocalist John Elefante and his brother Dino Elefante, only included into ‘The Best of Kansas’, their first Greatest Hits compilation appeared in 1984.

Additionally there’s a selection of live tracks captured at the band’s more prolific era from 1973 to 1982, such as the mammoth 16-minute ‘Incomudro / Hymn to the Atman’ showcasing Kansas awesome musicianship.
All with very good audio quality.

Kansas has spent four decades as a part of the soundtrack of the lives of multiple generations of music lovers.
An official release, “Wheels And Other Rarities” is a must for fans of the band and collectors, but also a really good selection for the casual listener.
Highly Recommended

01 – Wheels (Kansas Boxed Set exclusive)
02 – Can I Tell You (Demo)
03 – Carry On Wayward Son (Remix)
04 – The Wall (Remix)
05 – Perfect Lover (The Best Of Kansas exclusive)
06 – Death of Mother Nature Suite (Live in Kansas City – 1973)
07 – Incomudro / Hymn to the Atman (Live in Cleveland – 1975)
08 – On the Other Side (Live in Springfield – 1979)
09 – Dust In the Wind (Live in Chicago – October 1980)
10 – Play the Game Tonight (Live in Kansas City – July 1982)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.