BABYLON SHAKES – Exile To The Velveteen Lounge (2019)

BABYLON SHAKES - Exile To The Velveteen Lounge (2019) full

“Exile To The Velveteen Lounge” is the first full-length record from powerhouse rockers BABYLON SHAKES set for a February 1st release through HighVolMusic. Babylon Shakes sound is a mixture of ’70s classic rock ala Aerosmith and ’80s Sunset Strip sleazy akin Guns N’ Roses.

An indeed Babylon Shakes are different, doing something like I call sleazy retro-rock. Or maybe glammy classic rock? The early Aerosmith swagger is all over the CD, but also Guns N’ Roses more bluesy side.
When I first heard Babylon Shakes, I automatically thought of early Faster Pussycat and in particular the group’s debut album. Perhaps it’s just Babylon Shakes’ frontman Chris Clark‘s vocals that really remind me of Taime Downe on that first Faster Pussycat album.
Additionally, the guitar tone along with the rhythm section of bassist Gary Jordan and drummer Jeff Mortimer has a real ’70s sound to it with a bit of Hanoi Rocks mixed into it as well.

Babylon Shakes are very good at letting the music breathe in that once they have a good melody or guitar riff, they will just ride that baby out such as on “Silver Tongue Devil.” The old school references are quite evident with the intro to “Velveteen Libertine” sounding like an old vinyl recording before the song really kicks in.
Songs like “Sunset Striptease” bring to my mind Gilby Clarke solo works, while one of my favorites, ‘Hardtimes’, is pure ’80s Sunset Strip, dirty and rockin’.

BABYLON SHAKES - Exile To The Velveteen Lounge (2019) inside

With their debut “Exile To The Velveteen Lounge”, Babylon Shakes seems to have coined a new musical term; sleazy retro-rock. Take a look at the influences mentioned above, all are here, and blended quite originally by these guys.
A very interesting, refreshing band and first full length effort.
Highly Recommended

01 – Making a Million
02 – Sunset Striptease
03 – Sin Parade
04 – No Pictures Please
05 – Velveteen Libertine
06 – Silver Tongue Devil
07 – Hardtimes
08 – Die Pretty
09 – Star in Your Eyes
10 – Motel Lights

Chris Clark – guitar, vocals
Gary Jordan – guitar, vocals
Dave Elmore – bass, vocals
Jeff “Morty” Mortimer – drums, vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.