RON KEEL BAND – Fight Like A Band (2019)

RON KEEL BAND - Fight Like A Band (2019) full

Great news for Keel fans as the group’s frontman is releasing a new album titled “Fight Like A Band” with his RON KEEL BAND. Ron Keel’s 35-year odyssey as an entertainer has taken him from the concrete jungle of arena rock to the dirt roads of country music and back again. “Fight Like A Band” combine both, yet overall this is a true hard rocking new effort.

Opener ‘Road Ready’ rocks hard, and since the first bit you can hear how Ron and his band work like a well oiled machine. Next title track is a melodious middle of the road tune, and the American ‘heart rock’ is all over with some Nineties Cinderella on it.
‘Rock N’ Roll Guitar’ even has a little southern flavor to it, yet energized. Ron’s vocals are in good shape, and feels fresh.

Some tracks like ‘Long Way Down’, ‘Good Songs Bad Times’ and of course ‘Just A Cowboy’ have that ‘heavy country’ touch the singer did some time ago, and work really well as balance to the more rocking material.

Rocking I’d said? Check the arena ready ‘Hearts Gone Wild’, the melodic hard rocker ‘Fire In The Rain’, and the effective remake of ‘The Right To Rock’.
Closer ‘Hey Man’ is one of my favorites, a midtempo bluesy rocker with cool lyrics, slide guitars into the mix and Ron’s impassioned raspy vocals.

“Fight Like A Band” is a honest, wood & blood rocking album, bluesy at times, rocking at many, and with that pich of country / americana here and there.
This IS American Rock, the classic rock from all times not contaminated by modern trends. Something that not many US bands can abide nowadays.
Highly Recommended

01. Road Ready
02. Fight Like A Band
03. Rock N’ Roll Guitar
04. Long Way Down
05. Hearts Gone Wild
06. Good Songs Bad Times
07. Girls Like Me
08. Fire In The Rain
09. Just A Cowboy
10. Old School
11. Tears Of Fire
12. The Right To Rock
13. Hey Man

Vocals, Guitar, Producer – Ron Keel
Guitars, Vocals – Dave “DC” Cothern
Bass, Vocals – Geno Arce
Drums, Percussion, Vocals – Jeff Koller
Keyboards, Vocals – “Dakota” Scott Schmitt
Backing Vocals, Producer – Mike Dresch


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.