BURNING RAIN – Face The Music [Japan Edition +1] (2019)

BURNING RAIN - Face The Music [Japan Edition +1] (2019) full

Traditional hard rockers BURNING RAIN will release their fourth studio album, “Face The Music” via Frontiers Music, just appeared in Japan with a bonus track.
Founded by former WHITESNAKE and current THE DEAD DAISIES axeman Doug Aldrich together with singer Keith St. John (KINGDOM COME, ex-MONTROSE), the line up for the new album is rounded out by Brad Lang (Y&T) on bass and Blas Elias (SLAUGHTER) on drums.

“Face The Music” starts with the stomper ‘Revolution’, a groovy heavy track driven by a broken Aldrich riff and St. John’s raspy vocals.
But soon ‘Larelei’ brings to the table the bluesy leanings Burning Rain is known for, an atmospheric midtempo with a classic feeling yet some darkness.

I am surprised how the band rocks in ‘Nasty Hustle’ where some classic Montrose arise, then ‘Midnight Train’ fully encompasses the sound of Burning Rain with its soaring choruses and a killer guitar solo.
‘Shelter’ slow things after so much energy, a slow paced semi-ballad embellished by acoustics.
Title track rocks again and somehow remind me of Fastway, while ‘Hit And Run’ is fun, straight hard rocker with a catchy chorus.

As you guess by its title, ‘If It’s Love’ is a ballad, a classic heartfelt rock ballad including Hammond organ and where early a bit of ’80s Whitesnake emerge. It also has some John Sykes solo as well. A highlight.
For the end, ‘Since I’m Loving You’ is just another rollicking tune like a mix of classic Zeppelin and Badlands, hot blooded, and where all band members shine.

“Face The Music” is pure Burning Rain, a bluesy driven hard rock record plenty of strong songs evoking the classic 70s / early ’80s hard rock scene, but also staying true to the band’s sound.
With a renewed line-up featuring the amazing Blas Elias (Slaughter) on drums and bassist Brad Lang (Y&T) – both providing a superb backbone – Burning Rain kills all over “Face The Music”.
Highly Recommended

01 – Revolution
02 – Larelei
03 – Nasty Hustle
04 – Midnight Train
05 – Shelter
06 – Face The Music
07 – Beautiful Road
08 – Hit And Run
09 – If It’s Love
10 – Hideaway
11 – Since I’m Loving You
12 – Shelter (Acoustic Version) [Japan Bonus Track]

Keith St. John – Vocals (ex Kingdom Come)
Doug Aldrich – Guitar (ex Hurricane, ex Whitesnake)
Blas Elias – Drums (ex Slaughter)
Brad Lang – Bass (ex Y&T)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.