TESLA – Shock (2019)

TESLA - Shock (2019) full

Talented American hard rock band TESLA will release their new studio album “SHOCK” tomorrow. The album is comprised of 12 new tracks and is produced / co-written by Phil Collen (Def Leppard).
Tesla’s first offering in nearly five years is melodic hard rock at its finest; rockers, ballads and a few curve balls that make it “Shock’ a complete package.
You can hear Collen’s touch (read Def Lepp) on a couple of songs, but it is most definitely a Tesla album with Jeff Keith’s trade mark gravelly vocals and some classy guitar riffs and solos.

‘You Won’t Take Me Alive’ is great track to get proceedings underway, a nice rocky number with a catchy hook that gets stuck right in your brain and stays there.
One of the best things about this album is that although the songs are all different they each find a way to worm into your brain and you will be humming the tunes to yourself all day long. ‘Taste Like’ has a similar effect although lyrically it may not be the best and even a little cringy, you cannot doubt the fact it is masterfully put together and will hook you with its infectious beat.
‘We Can Rule The World’ slows things down with a classic rock type ballad, that does exactly what you would expect.

Title track ‘Shock’ has a stuttering start which takes a little away from what is a brilliant track, full of power and energy, a real anthem for the album.
‘California Summer Song’ is a funky melodic number that will have you dreaming of long summer days, then ballad ‘Forever Loving You’ gives you a little taste of the 70s style and even a little Beatles flavour for good measure.

‘The Mission’ kicks things up another notch with a gritty rock track for the ages with a savage solo thrown in. If the previous track kicked it up then ‘Tied To The Tracks’ grabs things by the scruff of the neck and absolutely smashes it out of the park, a ballsy rock track that will have you stomping you feet and banging your head it just encapsulates what this album is all about.
‘Afterlife’ and ‘I Want Everything’, in particular, keep things trucking along and rock you into the final track ‘Comfort Zone’ which is something these guys know how to get in and stay there, bang out tune after tune on what has to be one of their best albums to date.

Since reforming in 2004, Tesla heve stuck some records out, but let’s get it said right now; none of them have been anywhere near as good as “Shock”.
To make this record they turned to an artist from a band that never quit in when the 90s took a swipe at arena rock. Collen’s production – and especially co-writing – takes Tesla to another level, and he did a mighty job in truth.

While many veteran bands prefer the safe zone – but many times repeating themselves – Tesla were not afraid to call an external songwriter, and a ‘different’ producer.
Kudos to Jeff Keith’s and the guys for this brave move. The results are excellent.
“Shock” isn’t shocking at all, just a great collection of timeless, quality melodic hard rock.
HIGHLY Recommended

01. You Won’t Take Me Alive
02. Taste Like
03. We Can Rule The World
04. Shock
05. Love Is A Fire
06. California Summer Song
07. Forever Loving You
08. The Mission
09. Tied To The Tracks
10. Afterlife
11. I Want Everything
12. Comfort Zone

Jeff Keith (vocals)
Dave Rude (guitars)
Frank Hannon (guitars)
Brian Wheat (bass)
Troy Luccketta (drums)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.