MICHAEL LEARNS TO ROCK – Nothing To Lose [25th Anniversary Remastered +7]

MICHAEL LEARNS TO ROCK - Nothing To Lose [25th Anniversary Remastered +7] full

The essential discography of Danish band MICHAEL LEARNS TO ROCK has been remastered and reissued with a bunch of bonus tracks. After featuring here the band’s first two albums, here’s their fourth, “Nothing To Lose [25th Anniversary Remastered +7]” including seven extras in its Asian ADMS Alloy Gold CD pressing. Most of these bonuses are hard to find rarities, and this CD version has become very expensive.

For their fourth album, the Danes wanted to change the approach a little. While the soft-rock / lite AOR Rock&pop melodies are still there, some songs give more room for the guitar, something the band’s European fans asked.
However, one of the singles for the album, opener ‘I’m Gonna Be Around’ – written especially for the United States” according to lead singer Jascha Richter, is very soft ballad boy-band kinda of, and I don’t like it at all.

But things get better since track 2 ‘Something You Should Know’, a very catchy melodic rocker with the MLTR sound we all know. Title track is sugary ballad, yet a fine one.
‘Magic’ is the first songwriting contribution ever by bass player Søren Madsen, a cool midtempo melodic song that reminds me of a Stage Dolls song.
‘Everything I Planned’ is pure early ’90s MLTR, while ‘Party’ is just that, adding some modern keys and production for this pop rocker similar to 7th Heaven current sound.

MICHAEL LEARNS TO ROCK - Nothing To Lose [25th Anniversary Remastered +7] back

“Nothing To Lose” is another good MLTR album, mature in songwriting and perhaps too much calculated. I still prefer the band’s earlier albums / sound, and you can find several songs in this style here.
Highly Recommended


01 – I’m Gonna Be Around
02 – Something You Should Know
03 – Animals
04 – Nothing To Lose
05 – Magic
06 – Everything I Planned
07 – Paint My Love
08 – Romantic Balcony
09 – Party
10 – Breaking My Heart
11 – A Different Song
12 – Forever And A Day
13 – Paint My Love (Acoustic Version) [Bonus]
14 – Breaking My Heart (Alternative Version) [Bonus]
15 – Every Day (Japan Edit) [Bonus]
16 – I’m Gonna Be Around (Acoustic Demo) [Bonus]
17 – Forever And A Day (Demo) [Bonus]
18 – Something You Should Know (Band Mix 2) [Bonus]
19 – Romantic Balcony (Alternate Version) [Bonus]

Jascha Richter – lead vocals, keyboards
Mikkel Lentz – guitars, keyboards
Kåre Wanscher – drums, percussion
Søren Madsen – bass, rhythm guitar, backing vocals, percussion



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.