PRINCE – The VERSACE Experience (PRELUDE 2 GOLD) (2019) *Exclusive*

PRINCE - The VERSACE Experience (PRELUDE 2 GOLD) (2019) *Exclusive* full

In 1995, PRINCE shared a limited number of cassette tapes with attendees of the Versace collection of Paris Fashion Week. The collection of songs was a promotional asset for Prince’s next album ‘The Gold Experience’, and it never saw an official release, until now. Today, Prince’s “The VERSACE Experience (PRELUDE 2 GOLD)” has been finally released.

Intended as a preview of Prince’s then-new album ‘Gold’ (for me, one of his best and a personal favorite), ‘The Versace Experience (Prelude 2 Gold)’ featured exclusive remixes of ‘Eye Hate U’, ‘Gold’ and ‘P Control’ as well as rare music by The New Power Generation, all never heard by major public until now.

The Artist (Formerly Known As Prince) as his wanted to be called, at the time with the enigmatic symbol – distributed the cassette mostly as a promotional tool for the upcoming album The Gold Experience, but also contained tracks from other planned projects, the New Power Generation’s second album Exodus (which had already been released in Europe), Madhouse’s third album (which was ultimately left unreleased) and The NPG Orchestra’s Kamasutra (which was released in early 1997).

Unlike other NPG Records sampler cassettes of the era, many tracks were remixed or edited specifically for this release to make listening to the cassette a complete experience.
In addition, several tracks feature overdubbed vocals by Prince. As such, many of the tracks are not available in the same form elsewhere.

Also unusually for NPG Records sampler cassettes, “The Versace Experience (Prelude 2 Gold)” was released in conjunction with Warner Bros. This is likely due to the links with The Gold Experience, which was planned for release by NPG Records and Warner Bros. on 12 September 1995, as indicated on the cassette insert, although the release was later postponed to 26 September 1995.
Artwork for a CD-version was also made, and while never pressed at the time, it’s the one featured for this 2019 release.


01 Prince – Pussy Control (Club Mix) (Edit)
02 Prince – Shhh (X-cerpt)
03 The New Power Generation – Get Wild In The House
04 Prince – Eye Hate U (Remix)
05 Prince – 319 (X-cerpt)
06 Prince – Shy (X-cerpt)
07 Prince – Billy Jack Bitch
08 Prince/Madhouse – Sonny T. (X-cerpt)
09 Prince/Madhouse – Rootie Kazootie (Edit)
10 Prince – Chatounette Controle
11 Prince – Pussy Control (Control Tempo) (Edit)
12 The New Power Generation Orchestra – Kamasutra Overture #5
13 The New Power Generation – Free the Music
14 Prince – Segue
15 Prince – Gold (X-cerpt)



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. -= Sisters Of Mercy =- says:

    AWESOME!!! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.