SONATA ARCTICA – Talviyö [Japan Edition +1] (2019)

SONATA ARCTICA - Talviyö [Japan Edition +1] (2019) full

On September 6th, Finnish melodic metal titans SONATA ARCTICA will release their tenth studio album, called ‘Talviyö‘ (which means Winter Night), including eleven new tracks, this Japanese edition including an exclusive bonus track.
“The idea was to create an album that is musically in line with at least the previous two”, says vocalist Tony Kakko and adds: “I am very happy with the songs and the general mood of the album. Some career highlights there, I feel.”
“We recorded a bunch of kick ass songs and tried some new stuff as well. I’m really proud of how we managed to record the band sounding more live, playing together instead of just tracking everything one by one”, states Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg.

‘Talviyö’ was recorded between September 2018 and May 2019, produced by Mikko Tegelman and SONATA ARCTICA in ‘Studio57’. Additional recordings took place in various other places.
“Mikko produced the album and he really managed to push us to do our best, even with the more experimental stuff. Working with an outside producer was the biggest new thing we tried this time”, says Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg.
The mixing was done by Mikko Tegelman and Pasi Kauppinen and the mastering was handled by Svante Forsbäck for ‘Chartmakers’.


01 – Message From The Sun
02 – Whirlwind
03 – Cold
04 – Storm The Armada
05 – The Last Of The Lambs
06 – Who Failed The Most
07 – You Won’t Fall [Japan Bonus Track]
08 – Ismo’s Got Good Reactors
09 – Demon’s Gate
10 – A Little Less Understanding
11 – The Raven Still Flies With You
12 – The Garden

Tony Kakko – Vocals, Keyboards
Henrik Klingenberg – Keyboards, Vocals
Elias Viljanen – Guitars
Pasi Kauppinen – Bass
Tommy Portimo – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.