THIN LIZZY – Live In London 22.01.2011 (feat Vivian Campbell, Darren Wharton & Marco Mendoza)

THIN LIZZY - Live In London 22.01.2011 hammersmith apollo

Irish legend THIN LIZZY performed a spectacular live show at the prestigious Hammersmith Apollo as part of their 2011 UK tour. This show was recorded and CD’s were produced instantly on the night by live music specialists ‘Concert Live’ and were available to the audience within minutes of the last note of the gig has been played.
And, if you wasn’t lucky enough to be there, Concert Live can organize for one of these CDs to be sent straight to your home, so you can re-live 40 years of the sensational Thin Lizzy in your living room.

So, what about this show?
Well, Phil Lynott can never be replaced. He remains one of the most galvanizing, mercurial figures in rock history.
But this new version of Thin Lizzy playing his music is good. Damn good.

When this show happened, twenty five years passed since Lynott’s untimely death. The world has changed, but the amazing body of work that is Thin Lizzy still retains all of its vibrancy and influence.
A new line-up was formed to take Lizzy’s music to a whole new generation of music fans. Led by alumni Scott Gorham (ex 21 Guns), Brian Downey and Darren Wharton (Dare) – all of whom played in Thin Lizzy with Phil Lynott) – the stellar crew here was completed by Def Leppard’s Vivian Campbell (guitar), bassist Marco Mendoza (Whitesnake, The Dead Daisies) and The Almighty’s Ricky Warwick on vocals and guitar.

With Scott Gorham and Viv Campbell on guitar you knew the axe work would be be awesome. Gorham, of course, has the Lizzy touch, and Campbell brings that melodic harmony guitar work in seamlessly. In truth, he would’ve fit in just fine with the band back in the day, his playing is that good.
Drums are solid with the original Downey pounding the skins, and Mendoza does an admirable job on bass. Darren Wharton is another Lizzy alum playing the keyboards with class.
Without a doubt, musically, this version of Thin Lizzy sounds as good and tight as any version of the band. Those trademark guitars just sing like angelic harmonies aimed right at the heart.

So really, the question is the front man. Who could do it? Who has the balls and the proper charisma to take the place of Lynott on stage? Well, let me tell you, the Lizzy boys couldn’t have found a better man than Ricky Warwick.
First off, Ricky doesn’t try to ape Phil. But his phrasing is about as dead-on perfect as you could ask for. His throaty deep tenor sound enough like Phil that if you didn’t know who it was, at times you could be fooled. It feels natural, not like Ricky is trying to be Phil or even sound like Phil. It just sounds like the way the songs are supposed to be sung. And this is critical.
Any firestorm directed at the band would be aimed right at Ricky, and damn if the man doesn’t have the cajones to pull it off. Hats off to Ricky Warwick for his terrific performance.

The show features a killer set of fantastic Lizzy songs, fired up and ready to bring Phil Lynott’s music and the Lizzy sound to a new generation. Each one is absolutely spot-on and played with tremendous precision, a proof that the band have been rehearsing for over half a year on these.
“Jailbreak” is as mean and fierce as ever. “Don’t Believe a Word”, one of my favorite lost Lizzy cuts, sounds razor sharp. Killer and to the point.

“Massacre”, another mind-blowing highlight, is on fire, with that spectacular guitar work lighting up the night sky. Ricky really shines here, pulling the spirit of Phil out of rock and roll heaven right back down to the stage.
It’s really nice to see the progtastic “Angel Of Death” back in the set list, including a solo by the baby of the band, Darren Wharton.
“The Boys Are Back In Town” is pulsating and pounding, “Rosalie” sounds inspired, and “Bad Reputation” is street grit and beating.
For the final, one of highlights of the show is the celtic-rock masterpiece that is “Black Rose”. Vivian Campbell & Scott’s dual lead playing is incendiary and vibrant.

Phil Lynott is gone and missed. No one can ever replace him.
But let me tell you, “Live In London 2011” stands true as a great Thin Lizzy album, the music sounding fresh and new, ready to incite the fire in a new generation of fans.
“Live In London 22.01.2011” is hot and rocks like Hell, believe me.
Highly Recommended


Disc I
01 – Are You Ready
02 – Waiting For an Alibi
03 – Jailbreak
04 – Do Anything You Want To
05 – Dancing in the Moonlight
06 – Massacre
07 – Angel of Death
08 – Still in Love With You
09 – Whiskey in the Jar
10 – Emerald

Disc II
01 – Wild One
02 – Sha La La La
03 – Cowboy Song
04 – The Boys Are Back In Town
05 – Rosalie
06 – Bad Reputation
07 – Black Rose
08 – Black Rose (Reprise)

Scott Gorham – Guitars
Brian Downey – Drums
Darren Wharton – Keyboards, Vocals
Vivian Campbell – Guitar
Marco Mendoza – Bass
Ricky Warwick – Vocals, Guitar



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Gerry says:

    You’ve made my day !
    I’ve got the double vinyle “live and dangerous”, one of the best live I know
    and Phil Lynott was fantastic !
    Thanks a lot

    • 0dayrox says:

      You’re welcome. You suggested to post a “live and dangerous” remastered version, but if you ask me, the original press (even better on vinyl) is the best.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.