VOICES OF ROCK I – MMVII [Japan Edition +1]

VOICES OF ROCK I - MMVII [Japan Edition +1] full

As requested, here’s the terrific project VOICES OF ROCK led by Chris Lausmann (Bonfire, Jaded Heart) and Michael Voss (Mad Max, Casanova), two of Germany’s leading producers, musicians, and singer-songwriters in the melodic hard rock scene.
They gathered a bunch of well-known vocalists to sing one song each. The participants are all of the absolute elite within the melodic hard rock genre – names like James Christian, Johnny Gioeli, Göran Edman, Steve Overland, etc to record this first album titled “MMVII“.
This Japanese Edition includes an exclusive bonus track.

This really is a treat for melodic rock fans and the songs on the whole are very strong and stand up to repeated plays.
Highlights? Depends on your vocal choice but for me it is James Christian belting it out on the hard rocking ‘Voodoo Woman’ (very House Of Lords in sound), while his lovely wife Robin Beck is not far behind with a midtempo rocker ‘Underloved’.

Great to hear Dan Reed on ‘Over And Done’, although the song and his vocals at times sound like John Waite! Jean Beauvoir (Crown Of Thorns) is on fine form on ‘Wild Thing’, great riff and chorus. Steve Overland (FM) as ever lays down an emotive vocal on ‘Slip Away’.
Terry Brock lends his unique voice to “Nightingale”, a melodic hard rock tune in mid-tempo with lots of keyboards and guitars that share the lead part in the mix.

Swedish monster singer Göran Edman sings a cover of “China In Your Hands”, and he impresses as always. That man can’t sing badly. It’s a faster song with lots of tempo and energy.
Something worth mentioning is the brilliant guitar playing executed by Angel G. Schleifer and the genius Tommy Denander. Those two really add an edge to the album.

Despite eleven different lead vocalists the songs all sit very well together and if you love classic melodic rock you need ‘VOICES OF ROCK I – MMVII’ in your collection.
Highly Recommended


01 – Woodoo Woman (James Christian)
02 – Wild Thing (Jean Beauvoir)
03 – Nightingale (Terry Brock)
04 – Over and Done (Dan Reed)
05 – Phoenix Rising (Johnny Gioeli)
06 – Irresistible (Harry Hess)
07 – China In Your Hands (Goran Edman)
08 – Underloved (Robin Beck)
09 – Slip Away (Steve Overland)
10 – Love Is Blind (Gary Barden)
11 – Maniac (Michael Voss) [Japan Bonus Track]

Michael Voss (Mad Max, Casanova) – guitars and backing vocals
Chris Lausmann (BONFIRE) – guitars, keyboards and bass
Bertram Engel (UDO) – drums
Angel G. Schleifer (ex BONFIRE) – lead guitars
Tommy Denander (RADIOACTIVE) – lead guitars



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Michael says:

    Awesome album! I was able to get it signed by Gary Barden a few years ago at a Michael Schenker show and he sang a few lines of “Love is Blind” to me acapella. 🙂

  2. John says:

    Any chance you can get Jeff Labar’s solo album One For The Road?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.