GREG LAKE – Greg Lake (feat Gary Moore, Steve Lukather) [Cherry Red remastered +3]

GREG LAKE - Greg Lake [Cherry Red remastered +3] full

Over the course of his career, talented GREG LAKE has been part of King Crimson, Emerson Lake and Palmer / Powell, Asia, etc, along with recording three solo albums. The two albums Greg Lake recorded during the ’80s – “Greg Lake (1981)” and “Manoeuvres (1983)” have been released by Cherry Red Records in a special two-disc set.
“Greg Lake / Manoeuvres remastered & expanded” have received a 2016 remastering treatment which has the personal approval of Lake, plus 4 bonus tracks which have never been included on any re-issue of the albums, only on separate rarities albums.

“Greg Lake”, his self-titled album from 1981, it’s a very special record, as apart from the stupendous songs, features the great Gary Moore on guitar.
Trying to find some direction after leaving ELP, Greg Lake released this album with the help of Gary Moore and other studio musicians including some members of Toto.
In contrast to the progressive nature of ELP, Lake’s self titled solo album finds the artist flirting with melodic rock / AOR and FM Radio Rock, prioritizing songwriting above all other musical aspects.

The highlight is of course Gary’s masterpiece “Nuclear Attack”, a minor AOR hit in the early ’80s (Gary later recorded his own heavier version for his Dirty Fingers album).
Other highlights include “It Hurts”, “Retribution Drive”, “The Lie” and “I Love You Too Much”, but all are solid and melodic with that classy early ’80s AOR sound.
Beyond Lake and Moore the line-up features renowned rock musicians like drummer Ted McKenna and keyboard players Tommy Eyre & Greg Mathieson.

But here comes the gems of this reissue: Toto’s Steve Lukather, David Hungate and the great Jeff Porcaro play on some tracks on the album, but on the 3 bonus tracks featured here we have the full Toto 1981 playing as back up band!
So in the awesome “You’re Good With Your Love”, the bluesy “You Really Got A Hold On Me” and the elegant midtempo “Cold Side Of A Woman” we have some kind of 3 ‘Lost Toto’ tracks, with Greg Lake on lead vocals.

GREG LAKE - Greg Lake [remastered +3] (2016) back

If you love early ’80s Toto and the AOR sounds from the era, “Greg Lake” is a must have, even more this remastered reissue featuring the delicious bonuses and a superb sound.


01 – Nuclear Attack
02 – Love You Too Much
03 – It Hurts
04 – Black And Blue
05 – Retribution Drive
06 – Long Goodbye
07 – The Lie
08 – Someone
09 – Let Me Love You Once
10 – For Those Who Dare
11 – You Really Got A Hold On Me
12 – You’re Good With Your Love
13 – Cold Side Of A Woman

Greg Lake – vocals, guitars
Tommy Eyre, Bill Cuomo, Greg Mathieson – keyboards
Gary Moore, Steve Lukather, Dean Parks, Snuffy Walden – guitars
Tristram Margetts, David Hungate – bass
Ted McKenna, Michael Giles, Jode Leigh, Jeff Porcaro – drums
Clarence Clemons – saxophone
Willie Cochrane, David Milner – pipers



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Derrick says:

    Now Toto with Greg Lake… What a line up that would have been!
    Cheers for this. And also Manoeuvres (lovely to see that spelled correctly!) too.

  2. Gerry says:

    these two albums of Greg Lake are simply jewels !
    and it reminds me that Gary Moore was a lot more than the bluesman most of people believe he was.
    Thanx …you made my day….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.