GREG LAKE – The Anthology; A Musical Journey [2xCD Box Set] (2020)

GREG LAKE - The Anthology; A Musical Journey [2xCD Box Set] (2020) full

GREG LAKE left behind a rich musical legacy when he passed away in 2016. As a member of Emerson Lake & Palmer, King Crimson, pre-Crim bands The Shy Limbs and The Shame – not to mention his talents as a solo artist, producer, and composer – he helped define the landscape of progressive rock.
A new career-spanning compilation called “The Anthology: A Musical Journey” will pay tribute to his contributions through the decades.
The two-disc set features 33 tracks, including many of Lake’s best-known songs, beloved album cuts, and rarities, all fully remastered.

There’s the hard-to-find “Love” that Lake recorded with The Shy Limbs, ELP favorites “Take a Pebble,” “‘C’est La Vie.” and “Lucky Man.” His time with King Crimson is represented with “Peace” from In the Wake of Poseidon, “In The Court Of The Crimson King.” recorded live at the Fillmore West, and “21st Century Schizoid Man” as performed solo in 1981.
A clutch of ’80s solo material is also included, alongside a collaboration with Geoff Downes and a number of live recordings.
Lake’s re-recording of the old ELP favorite “Closer To Believing” – one of his final recordings – is another highlight of the collection.

”The Anthology: A Musical Journey” is a fitting collection from this talented English man, a singer, songwriter, bassist, guitarist and record producer who influenced and shaped the sound of progressive rock during the last five decades.
Highly Recommended


Disc 1
01 Peace – A Beginning – King Crimson
02 Don’t Go ‘Way Little Girl (Single Mix) – The Shame
03 Love (Single Mix) – The Shy Limbs
04 The Court of the Crimson King (Live ’69)
05 Take a Pebble – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
06 Lucky Man – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
07 The Only Way (Hymn) – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
08 Oh My Father (2012 Stereo Mix) – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
09 The Great Gates Of Kiev (Live ’71) – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
10 From The Beginning – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
11 Trilogy (First Section) – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
12 The Endless Enigma (Part Two) – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
13 Still … You Turn Me On – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
14 ‘Epitaph’ from Tarkus (Live, 1973/74) – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
15 I Believe In Father Christmas (Single Version) – Greg Lake
16 Closer To Believing (Final Version, 2016) – Greg Lake

Disc 2
01 C’est La Vie – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
02 Lend Your Love To Me Tonight – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
03 Watching Over You – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
04 For You – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
05 Black and Blue – Greg Lake
06 It Hurts – Greg Lake
07 Haunted – Greg Lake
08 Slave To Love – Greg Lake
09 Touch and Go – Emerson, Lake & Powell
10 Affairs Of The Heart – Greg Lake & Geoff Downes
11 Paper Blood – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
12 Daddy – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
13 The Sage (1994 Studio Version) – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
14 21st Century Schizoid Man (Live ’81) – Greg Lake feat. Gary Moore
15 I Talk To The Wind (Live 2012) – Greg Lake
16 Karn Evil 9 1st Impression – Part 2 (Live 2012) – Greg Lake
17 Peace – An End – King Crimson


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.