HSAS (Hagar Schon Aaronson Shrieve) – Through The Fire [Japan HR/HM 1000 Series Remastered] *EXCLUSIVE*

HSAS (Hagar Schon Aaronson Shrieve) - Through The Fire [Japan HR/HM 1000 Series Remastered] *EXCLUSIVE* full

As requested, here’s in exclusive the Japanese remastered reissue of “Through The Fire“, the 1984 project of HSAS = Hagar Schon Aaronson Shrieve, released as part of the Universal Music Japan series ‘HR/HM 1000‘, that meaning Hard Rock / Heavy Metal at the price of 1000 Yen = about 9,5 USD.
With songs composed by Sammy Hagar and Neal Schon (except the cover of “Whiter Shade of Pale”, made famous by Procol Harum) the album was recorded live with guitar overdubs added later.

After the release of Journey’s 1983 album Frontiers, guitarist Neal Schon and fellow guitarist / vocalist Sammy Hagar decided to make good on a longstanding promise to work together. Hagar was coming off of his own late 1982 release, Three Lock Box, and the time was right for the pair to explore their desired collaboration.
They began to recruit and audition other musicians to fulfill a band roster, eventually settling on Sammy’s former drummer Denny Carmassi. At one point, the trio were working with Cheap Trick bassist Tom Petersson but that did not pan out over time.

Soon, touring obligations with Journey would delay things until the fall of 1983, by which time Carmassi had exited the project. Eventually, Kenny Aaronson (Derringer, Foghat and countless more) would join on bass along with drummer Michael Shrieve, who’d played with Schon in Santana in the past.

In fact, the pedigree of this foursome read like a real Who’s Who when it came to the collective bands on their resumes. Besides the obvious – Journey, Montrose and Santana – one could now include Billy Idol, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, Hall & Oates, Blue Öyster Cult, Mountain, Rick Derringer, Billy Squier, Pat Travers Band and several others.

The supergroup Hagar Schon Aaronson Shrieve (also known as HSAS) was now officially born. The quartet opted to go a different route than most bands for their initial debut album, playing live dates in November of 1983, two of which were recorded.
Not just recorded, as the November 14 and 15th shows in San Francisco were aired on MTV in their entirety on at least one occasion. Oddly, none of this footage has ever been issued on official VHS or DVD releases in the years since.

The recorded material from these shows, once edited in-studio to remove the crowd noise, was released as the 1984 Geffen Records release, “Through The Fire“. Strangely, the one and only single ever released from the album was the HSAS cover of the Procol Harum classic “Whiter Shade Of Pale“, which reached No. 94 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts.
HSAS would tour briefly in California during 1984, adding rhythm guitarist Nick Sciorsci to their line up for live performances.

“Through The Fire” would be the one and only album ever released from Hagar Schon Aaronson Shrieve, it remains a cult classic even now. Schon would return to JOURNEY while Sammy would blow up even more as a solo artist with another album he’d release that year, 1984’s VOA, and then he would go on to join VAN HALEN in 1986.
HSAS “Through The Fire” is the best ’80s hard rock cult classic that you may never had heard…
Do it now. Rocks.

Only at 0dayrox


HSAS (ヘイガー、ショーン、アーロンソン、シュリーヴ) = 炎の饗宴

01 – Top Of The Rock
02 – Missing You
03 – Animation
04 – Valley Of The Kings
05 – Giza
06 – Whiter Shade Of Pale
07 – Hot And Dirty
08 – He Will Understand
09 – My Home Town

Sammy Hagar – vocals
Neal Schon – guitars
Kenny Aaronson – bass
Michael Shrieve – drums



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Heeren says:

    Thx for this. Had the album way back. Very underrated with some of Neal Schon’s best playing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.