CREYE – Creye [Japan Edition +1] + ‘No Easy Way Out’ cover

CREYE - Creye [Japan Edition +1] + 'No Easy Way Out' cover full

Frontiers Music thrilled us with the announce of the release of the self-titled debut album from one of the world’s hottest Melodic Rock / AOR newcomers, CREYE. This Japanese edition includes a bonus track, and as extra, we have Creye’s cover of Robert Tepper’s classic ‘No Easy Way Out’.

Creye was put together by Grand Design guitarist Andreas Gullstrand in early 2015. After playing in different bands over the years, Andreas felt that it was time to turn it up a notch. His vision was to start a new Swedish AOR / rock&pop sensation that would take listeners on a journey back to the glory days of the ’80s, both musically and visually.

After spending time experimenting with the sound of the band, he settled on what can be described as a slick melodic rock sound with a strong ’80s retro feel in the mix.
Creye debuted in late 2016 with the single ‘Never Too Late’, which caused an immediate stir in the international AOR scene with outstanding reviews and immediate talk of the band potentially being the ‘next big thing’ to come out of Sweden.

In March 2017, the three song EP ‘Straight To The Top’ was released and featured here at 0dayrox, showcasing a more mature and evolved sound. Andreas continued working on the songwriting and crafting of new, more ambitious melodic rockers with thoughts of what would eventually become the band’s self-titled debut in mind.

While Creye’s music is clearly influenced by the classy sounds of the ’80s, Andreas is no stranger to more modern production techniques. “I’m personally a ’90s kid, so I guess the ’80s was still pretty relevant in mainstream media and pop culture when I was growing up,” he said.
“But something has always been very appealing to me about the ’80s for as long as I can remember and that is subconsciously expressed through the music. To sum it up, we’re more just reintroducing the components of an ’80s styled song to a 2018 production with our own touch to it rather than trying to actually write a ’80s song”.

CREYE - Creye [Japan Edition +1] (2018) inside

If you are into bands such as Work Of Art, Art Nation, One Desire, Grand Design and early H.E.A.T, then you will love Creye’s self-titled debut.
This is timeless Scandi melodic rock with a polished, pristine production and melodies to die for.
One of ‘Album of The Year’ 2018 for sure.


01. Holding On
02. Nothing To Lose
03. Different State Of Mind
04. Never Too Late
05. All We Need Is Faith
06. Miracle
07. Christina
08. Straight To The Top
09. Love Will Never Die
10. Still Believe In You
11. City Lights
12. Desperately Lovin’
13. A Better Way
14. Straight To The Top (Acoustic Version) (Japan Bonus Track)

15. No Easy Way Out [Robert Tepper cover]

Robin Jidhed – Vocals
Andreas Gullstrand – Lead Guitar
Fredrik Joakimsson – Rythm Guitar
Gustaf Örsta – Bass
Joel Rönning – Keyboards
Arvid Filipsson – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.