ERIC MARTIN BAND – Sucker For A Pretty Face [Rock Candy remastered +5]

ERIC MARTIN BAND - Sucker For A Pretty Face [Rock Candy remastered +5] (2016) full

The first, major label solo debut of Mr. Big’s terrific vocalist Eric Martin has just been ‘Remastered & Reloaded‘ by Rock Candy Records, featuring 5 bonus tracks. In fact, this “Sucker For A Pretty Face” was the debut of his ERIC MARTIN BAND, originally named ‘415’.

Although the name Eric Martin is synonymous with the platinum selling melodic hard band rock band Mr. Big, there was a time when he was just another struggling singer, one of many trying to get a shot at the big time.
Eric’s calling card was, and still is, a one in a million voice; a golden rasp blessed with a silky smooth delivery that would eventually establish him as a contender for serious chart action.

The Eric Martin Band were initially formed in 1979 under the name of 415 and played hundreds of shows at area nightclubs, beer parties, even high school and college dances, before eventually headlining San Francisco’s premiere night club – the Old Waldorf.
Selling out in advance, word quickly spread about about their dynamic live shows and soon the band were opening for established acts like Billy Squier, Hall & Oates, Rick Springfield, Molly Hatchet and Foreigner, to name a few.

Due its success, 415 was signed on to Elektra/Asylum Records under the management of Walter “Herbie” Herbert, Ron Chiarottino, and Sandy Einstein. These three persons managed and worked for the band Journey.
The management decided to change the name of the band to the “Eric Martin Band” (EMB), as singer-named bands were popular during that time.
Produced by Kevin Elson (Journey) and Rodney Mills (.38 Special) the Eric Martin Band (including future Tesla drummer Troy Luccketta) released their debut “Sucker For A Pretty Face” in 1983.

ERIC MARTIN BAND - Sucker For A Pretty Face [Rock Candy remastered +5] (2016) inside

Containing a superb selection of fuel injected melodic rock songs, including ‘Ten Feet Tall’, the Frankie Miller penned ‘Don’t Stop’ and the anthemic title track itself, the LP received a gold disc certification, and consequently led to the band’s appearance on American Bandstand and in various arena tours as the opening act for the likes of ZZ Top, Night Ranger and Journey.

One of the most acclaimed performances of the band was a solo tour in 1983 held at Honolulu, Hawaii, from some of the bonus tracks present on this reissue are taken.
But despite continuing to land high-profile gigs as support for some of the most popular acts at the time, EMB decided to split up in 1984 after returning from the ZZ Top tour, as Eric Martin wanted a solo career which successfully started in 1985 until he went into Mr. Big in 1988.

A must for ’80s US Melodic Rock fans, Eric Martin Band’s “Sucker For A Pretty Face” is plenty of hooky rockers highlighting Eric’s awesome vocals.
The sound quality of this Rock Candy remaster is pretty impressive, featuring 5 bonus tracks including the studio track ‘Stop in the Name of Love’ plus 4 tracks recorded live at the ’83 Hawaii gig, also with a really good sound.
Highly Recommended


01 – Sucker For A Pretty Face
02 – Don’t Stop
03 – Private Life
04 – Ten Feet Tall
05 – Letting It Out
06 – Young At Heart
07 – Just Another Pretty Boy
08 – One More Time
09 – Catch Me If You Can
10 – Love Me
11 – Stop In The Name Of Love
12 – Introduction – Young At Heart (Live)
13 – Ten Feet Tall (Live)
14 – Sucker For A Pretty Face (Live)
15 – Don’t Stop (Live)

Eric Martin – lead vocals, piano
John Nymann – guitar, vocals, keyboards
Mark Ross – guitar, vocals
David Jacobson – keyboards, vocals
Tom Duke – bass, vocals
Troy Luccketta – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.