KEE OF HEARTS – Kee Marcello : Tommy Heart (2017)

KEE OF HEARTS - Kee Marcello : Tommy Heart (2017) full

KEE OF HEARTS was the project built around two true melodic rock superstars: singer Tommy Heart (Fair Warning) and guitarist Kee Marcello (ex- Europe) which self-titled debut was released via Frontiers Music.
With a lineup rounded out by Ken Sandin (ex- Alien) on bass and Italian drummer Marco Di Salvia (Polarized), the guys started working on the album in late 2016. With their songwriting strongly focused on Melodic Rock songs, the album came to completion under the direction of producer Alessandro Del Vecchio and covers a wide spectrum of styles with a lot of attention given to crafting great hooks delivered by musicians that know how to deliver the goods.

Musically, the band operates in a territory defined by Scandinavian AOR meeting German Melodic Hard Rock with influences from the classic American AOR giants (think Giant, Journey, etc.).
This is an amazing band / union where outstanding musicians finally meet to produce something of high quality from songwriting to production.
Tommy Heart’s voice is incredible – he was born to sing Melodic Rock, and Kee Mrcello’s guitar playing is simply masterful.

The album opens strongly with “The Storm”, a melodic rock nugget which is almost hard rock, pretty edgy and with tons of attitude. “Crimson Dawn” has a classic Europe touch to it with Marcello’s guitar bringing us back to the late ’80s.
On many of the album’s tracks, such as “Bridge to Heaven”, we get big doses of good old American-tinged AOR. But there is also plenty of Scandi melodic hard rock influences on this album. “Edge of Paradise”, one of the album’s strongest tracks, could comfortably have been a song by Treat.

“Learn to Love Again” also lives in the same musical neighbourhood, while the punchy “Stranded” mix both styles and is pure candy in my ears, love it!
The commercial “Mama Don’t Cry” is catchy and melodious, while in “S.O.S.” the boys brings on another monster tune with lots of groove.

For me, Kee Marcello is one of the most talented, inventive guitarist from his generation, and Heart vocals in many ways defined the Melodic Rock way of singing since the early ’90s.
Together they’re dynamite and “Kee Of Hearts” is one of THE albums of the year 2017.


01 – The Storm
02 – A New Dimension
03 – Crimson Dawn
04 – Bridge To Heaven
05 – Stranded
06 – Mama Don’t Cry
07 – Invincible
08 – S.O.S.
09 – Edge Of Paradise
10 – Twist Of Fate
11 – Learn To Love Again

Tommy Heart – vocals (Fair Warning)
Kee Marcello – guitars (ex- Europe)
Ken Sandin – bass (ex- Alien)
Marco Di Salvia – drums
Alessandro Del Vecchio (Revolution Saints) – keyboards, backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.