NANCY WILSON – You And Me [Japanese Edition +2] (2021)

NANCY WILSON - You And Me [Japanese Edition +2] (2021) full

You And Me” is the solo album by Heart’s NANCY WILSON to be released world-wide soon, just appeared in Japan including two bonus tracks.
‘You And Me’ is mainly made up of originals, though a few covers are also included on the album, such as Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Boxer”, featuring vocals by Sammy Hagar, one of several notable guest appearances on the LP.
Elsewhere, Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan and Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins contributed to the original track “Party at the Angel Ballroom.” Closing song “4 Edward” is an acoustic instrumental dedicated to the memory of Eddie Van Halen.

It’s a varied album, showcasing the veteran guitarist wide influences all over the years.
The title track – which as with several of the songs on the album, reunites Wilson with longtime collaborator Sue Ennis, who co-wrote many of Heart’s classics with Nancy and sister Ann, is a sweet tune which builds and swirls around acoustic guitar, with percussion, keyboard and vocal harmonies adding layers to the poignant song. Lyrically, “You and Me” is an ode to Wilson’s mother, Lois, and the influence she had on the singer’s life.

Wilson covers Pearl Jam’s “Daughter,” sung from a female perspective and with a more classic rock approach, then ”Party at the Angel Ballroom” – with Duff McKagan & Taylor Hawkins – rocks with a joyful upbeat vibe.
It’s really fun hear Nancy & Hagar singing “The Boxer”, with an atmosphere similar to The Lovemongers “Walk Away” add some strings in the background, while “The Inbetween” has a bit of vintage Heart on its melody.

The album ends with “4 Edward”, an instrumental lullaby tribute to Eddie Van Halen, returns a long-standing favour, after EVH composed a song for Nancy when Van Halen and Heart first toured together in 1979.
Wilson asked Eddie why he didn’t play acoustic to which he responded, “I don’t have one.” Wilson sent him one of hew own acoustic guitars and Eddie wrote a song on it that stole Nancy’s heart. After his death last year, Nancy knew she had to return the favor.

This Japanese edition worth to hear “On the Way”, a nice acoustic / percussion track with an ‘American on
the road’ touch, and Nancy’s sweet vocals.
A solid, entertaining album covering all the Classic Rock sides, with an inspired Wilson both in songwriting and performances, all very well produced.
Highly Recommended


01. You and Me
02. The Rising
03. I’ll Find You
04. Daughter
05. Party at the Angel Ballroom (with Duff McKagan & Taylor Hawkins)
06. The Boxer (with Sammy Hagar)
07. Walk Away
08. The Inbetween
09. Dreams (with Liv Warfield)
10. The Dragon
11. We Meet Again
12. 4 Edward
13. On the Way
14. The Rising (Radio Edit)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.