COLD SWEAT – Break Out [20th Century Music Remastered] *EXCLUSIVE*

COLD SWEAT - Break Out [20th Century Music Remastered] full

Long time out of print and one of my favorite melodic hard rock albums from the early Nineties, COLD SWEAT‘s debut LP Break Outhas been remastered and reissued by 20th Century Music in all its sonic glory.Originally released in 1990, “Break Out” was the major label debut (and only) album from Cold Sweat, a US melodic hard rock band that was formed by ex- Keel guitarist Marc Ferrari alongside vocalist Rory Cathey (replacing one-time singer Oni Logan, who later joined Lynch Mob).
The line-up was completed with other talented folks: Erik Gamans (ex- Waysted), bassist Chris McLernon (Saigon Kick) and drummer Anthony White.

Equal parts L.A. hair metal and melodic arena rock, “Break Out” is exactly the kind of melodic hard rock album you’d expect to find in 1990: big guitars, top vocals, catchy choruses and ‘that 1990’ luxury production sound.
It’s somewhere between the early party rock of Danger Danger and the harder rocking Keel, Hurricane and Damn Yankees style.

There are plenty of punchy, arena-ready hard rockin’ tunes (see “Four on the Floor” and “Jump the Gun”), plus the obligatory power ballad (“Waiting in Vain”) yet here delivered with some nerve.
The cover of the Willie Dixon blues classic “I Just Want To Make Love To You” done in a Cinderella / Tom Keifer vein is a nice surprise, and showcase these superb musicians skills.
The guitar work on this album – particularly the melodies – is very impressive, and Cathey’s smooth, powerful vocals really seal the deal.

COLD SWEAT - Break Out [20th Century Music Remastered] (2018) inside

Another casualty of the early-‘90s grunge-a-thon, Cold Sweat was never heard from again. Given the sheer volume of similar bands at the time, that’s not really surprising, but Cold Sweat had more going on than the average Rock band at the time, and with the right breaks could have / should have had a better shot at the big time before the party ended.

Believe me, “Break Out” remains a real gem of the late ’80s and early ’90s US melodic hard rock / hair metal sound.

COLD SWEAT - Break Out [20th Century Music Remastered] (2018) back

The 20th Century Music label answered a lot of fans’ prayers this year (including mine) with the first official reissue of the long out-of-print “Break Out”. The new version boasts a ridiculously good remastering that will make even long-time fans hear the album in a whole new light.
And for those who missed “Break Out” the first time around, now is your chance to correct that. Act fast though, it’s a limited edition and may end up being harder to find than the original before too long.
I LOVE this album.
Superb stuff


You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – Four on the Floor
02 – Cryin’ Shame
03 – Lovestruck
04 – Waiting in Vain
05 – Take This Heart of Mine
06 – Killing Floor
07 – Riviera / Long Way Down
08 – Let’s Make Love Tonight
09 – Fistful of Money
10 – Jump the Gun
11 – I Just Want to Make Love to You

Lead Vocals – Rory Cathey
Guitar – Erik Gamans, Marc Ferrari
Keyboards – Stephan Presley
Bass – Chris McLernon
Drums – Anthony White



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    And after listening to the track, that’s not the same band.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.