PRiSM – Small Change (1981) [Digitally Remastered + 6]

PRiSM - Small Change (1981) [Digitally Remastered + 6] full

Another album to check out from the ’80s Canadian Melodic Rock factory is without a doubt PRiSM 1981’s “Small Change“, and this digitally remastered reissue is the one to get: excellent sound and 6 bonus tracks.
After several strong LP’s, PRiSM got signed by Capitol in 1981 however they asked to replace the lead singer – original Ron Tabak was fired, enter the more melodic Henry Small – for the 6th album wisely entitled “Small Change”. It was not only a change at the mic, but also in the general musical approach, more commercial and FM radio friendly AOR.
For this matter, external songwriters and future super-stars were brought in, like Jim Vallance & Bryan Adams contributing the lead single “Don’t Let Him Know”, a wonderful fluffy AOR tune with a killer chorus.

Both Vallance & Adams also wrote the brilliant AOR ballad “Stay”, very much in the REO Speedwagon style. “Turn On Your Radar” is classic, lightweight CanCon mid-tempo AOR, the punchy “Hole In Paradise” is pure Melodic Rock Heaven, and “Rain” a dreamy ballad with great atmosphere.

The Bruce Turgon (later in Shadow King and Foreigner) penned AOR rocker “Heart And Soul” keeps you moving with style, on the intense “When Love Goes Wrong” Henry Small sounds like a young Mark Free, while Prism does a very cool rocking rendition on Jimmy Rodgers’ “In The Jailhouse Now”.
The album ends with the Foreigner / Sheriff sounding semi-ballad “Wings Of Your Love”, adorned with pianos and nice bluesy guitars.

Among the bonus tracks we find the previously unreleased “Cadillac Club”, the rocking “N-N-N-No!” a song from the previous record, and four alternate takes / mixes from the main album. Honestly, I hear few differences, the most noticeable are the louder guitars on “Heart And Soul”.
Great music for your ’80s soul. HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Don’t Let Him Know
02 – Turn On Your Radar
03 – Hole In Paradise
04 – Rain
05 – When Will I See You Again
06 – Heart and Soul
07 – Stay
08 – When Love Goes Wrong
09 – In The Jailhouse Now
10 – Wings of Your Love
11 – Cadillac Club
12 – When Will I See You Again [Alternate Version]
13 – Heart and Soul [Alternate Version]
14 – Stay [Alternate Version]
15 – Rain [Alternate Version]
16 – N-N-N-No

Henry Small – lead vocals
Lindsay Mitchell – guitar
Rocket Norton – drums
Al Harlow – bass

Additional Personnel:
Jimmy Phillips – keyboards
Randy Hansen – guitar
Norton Buffalo – harmonica
Alvin Taylor – drums, percussion
Reggie McBride – bass
Shirley Matthews, Paulette Brown, Cleopatra Kennedy – backing vocals


out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.