TROOPER – Thick As Thieves ’78 [Canadian CD Reissue] HQ

TROOPER - Thick As Thieves [Canadian CD Reissue] HQ full

As requested by many, here’s the not easy to find only CD version of cult Canadian rockers TROOPER album “Thick As Thieves“. Trooper is one of Canada’s best Seventies melodic rockers. From 1975 to 1980, the Vancouver quintet produced five albums and a dozen top 20 hits. And they’re still around, despite founding members Ra McGuire and Brian Smith announced their retirement last year – giving their encouragement and blessing to remaining members to continue.
In their early era Trooper was huge in Canada selling platinum, but due to MCA inept operations the band never made it big in America. There’s still a legal dispute and Trooper early albums only have been reissued on CD in Canada, now out of print. This ”Thick As Thieves” CD is being sold for $90, go figure.
While this Vancouver-based band chalked up radio hits with their three previous albums, it wasn’t until 1978’s ”Thick As Thieves” that they hit pay dirt, scoring with their soon-to-be signature song “Raise a Little Hell”, also a successful single in the U.S.

The overwhelming success of that song obscured some of the other standout tracks, namely “Live from the Moon” and “Round, Round We Go,” featuring lead vocals from keyboardist Frank Ludwig.
Producer Randy Bachman – of Guess Who / Bachman-Turner Overdrive fame – wisely emphasized the strong voice of lead singer Ra McGuire and took advantage of the band’s five-part harmonies to reinforce and distinguish their sound.

Highly recommended for fans of late ’70s melodic rock, the CanCon legendary scene and bands like Wrabit, Chilliwack, early Streetheart, etc.


01 – Live From The Moon
02 – No Fun Being Alone
03 – Round, Round We Go
04 – Drivin’ Crazy
05 – Roll With It
06 – Say Goodnight
07 – The Moment That It Takes
08 – One Good Reason
09 – Gambler
10 – Raise A Little Hell

Ra McGuire – lead vocals
Brian Smith – lead guitar
Tommy Stewart – drums
Doni Underhill – bass guitar
Frank Ludwig – keyboards, vocals


Try Here:

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Stefan says:

    Request for two great albums from Chilliwack.” Opus X” and ” Wanna be a star” from 81-82

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.