MARCO MENDOZA – New Direction (2022)

MARCO MENDOZA - New Direction (2022) - full

Talented solid bass player and charismatic frontman MARCO MENDOZA has his fourth solo album offering ”New Direction” for release September 16. Being known for his work with Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake, Journey, Ted Nugent and The Dead Daisies to name a few, the Los Angeles native has recorded a body of amazing music in his own right.
With what has affected all walks of life across the globe, demanding times can produce special opportunities, and writing and recording amidst a pandemic was a trigger for Mendoza’s creativity.

Working with world-class producer Soren Andersen (Glenn Hughes), owner of Medley Studios in Copenhagen and dubbed by some as ‘the new Mutt Lange’, the partnership that has already produced the career-defining 2017 album “Viva La Rock”.

With Andersen himself handling guitars and keyboards as a background for Mendoza’s top-class bass lines and superb wide ranging vocals, Tommy Gentry (Gun) stepped in for guest guitar solos in selected tracks, while drumming duties were split between Morten Hellborn (Electric Guitars) and Allan Tschicaja (Pretty Maids).
A super-team surrounding Marco… but then again, the ever crowd pleasing talent is used to working with the best of the best, and wouldn’t have it any other way in what is clearly the tightest set of songs he has ever recorded in his own name.

It also captures some of the feel-good vibes from his era with Tthe Dead Daisies, a series of albums and tours that brought the party with fun, accessible music you could lose yourself in at a show, whilst leaving your troubles at the door.
Putting these pieces together, this Marco album is not about a critical assessment of individual songs, it’s more about how the collection of material makes you feel. This isn’t an album where you need to put your smoking jacket on, stroke your beard and contemplate new boundaries in the history of rock music.
No, this is instant, accessible and fun music that engages you and puts a smile on your face – and, in the weeks ahead, it will bring a bit of bright autumn sunshine to your day. If you could visualise this music, it would be an album with a big smile on its face – and maybe a cheeky wink thrown in too!

Looking at some of the standout tracks, ‘Take It To The Limit’ and ‘Shoot For The Stars’ under-score the positive message coming through this fine album – adopting a can-do mindset despite the limitations of the over-heating world. Beyond the lyrical messages, the music is energetic and empowering in its very essence.
There’s a stand out ballad on the album too. Some rockers and rock media today seem to have gone off ballads a bit, but in truth they are absolutely core to rock’s heritage. ‘Walk Next To You’ reminded me of those classic soft ballads of the ’80s and, done well, there’s still a place for them.

The title track ‘New Direction’ is the album stand-out for me – my only quibble is I may have had the title track as the album opener rather than the closer. ‘New Direction’ is musically a new take on Marco’s signature oeuvre, but it’s such as inspiring and empowering track.
‘Free Ride’ is a bit of a sensual rocker, and the loose groove of ‘Can’t Explain It’ is one of those engaging songs that would appeal beyond fans of rock. Like Marco’s shows, the album is quite eclectic in the light, shade and palette of colors employed.

There are few rock legends out there that have played with (or in) a more impressive who’s-who of bands, yet Marco remains one of the nicest and down-to-earth guys in the scene.
Marco’s a ‘glass-is-half-full’ kinda guy; this frames his positive outlook on life and it washes through the essence of this fine new album. Musically it’s not attempting to change the world but, you know what, it’s precisely because of this that maybe it will – one person at a time.
Highly Recommended


01. Take It To The Limit
02. I Just Can’t Get Over You
03. Light It Up
04. Walk Next To You
05. Shoot For The Stars
06. All That I’m Living For
07. Free Ride
08. Can’t Explain It
09. Scream And Shout
10. New Direction

Marco Mendoza – lead vocals, bass
Soren Andersen – guitars, keyboards
Morten Hellborn (Electric Guitars) – drums (tracks 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9)
Allan Tschicaja (Pretty Maids) – drums (tracks 3, 4, 10)
Tommy Gentry (Gun) – guitar solos (tracks 3, 5, 6, 7, 9)
Ivan Pedersen – backing vocals (track 4)
Jorgen Thorup – backing vocals (track 4)
Peter Busborg – backing vocals (track 4)


Pre order:

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Brutus says:

    Thanks You 0Day!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.