ALI THOMSON – The Last Rodeo [Japan Edition] (2022) HQ

ALI THOMSON - The Last Rodeo [Japan Edition] (2022) HQ - full

Scottish ALI THOMSON started at very young age performing into bands and recording sessions before landing a publishing contract as a songwriter. His recording career started with A&M Records and his 1980’s debut album featured the hit song ‘Take a Little Rhythm’ which achieved Top 10 success in the USA, Canada, Japan and various other countries.
A follow up album ‘Deception is an Art’ was released to critical acclaim but Ali decided to curtail his brief time as a recording artist to pursue his ambitions as a songwriter. He has written / co-written many hit songs for several artists / bands However, in 2018 Ali decided to go back into the studio and record his 3rd album, ‘Songs from the Playroom’.
Now in 2022 Thomson is releasing his 4th studio album ”The Last Rodeo”, including 12 new songs (one co-written with ’80s AOR guru Marc Jordan) ranging from pop-rock to Westcoast AOR, all with pristine quality and a strong retro feeling.

You can tell when you face a songwriter with decades of experience; all songs into ”The Last Rodeo” are exquisitely penned & arranged, plus recorded / produced with attention to detail.
All are good ,among our favorites the title track with its Steely Dan sensibility but more dynamic, rich in instrumentation, ‘Wolves’ including Rhodes piano and a captivating groove, the elegant AOR of “Real World” (with Marc Jordan on backing harmonies), and the pure 1981’s “Lifted by Love”.

A very good, complete singer-songwriter album with that ‘big ’80s production’ in mind, which thanks to modern technology was emulated by Ali in his own recording studio.
Classy stuff, Highly Recommended



01 – Losing the Light
02 – Wolves
03 – Through The Storm
04 – Rays of Gold
05 – The Last Rodeo
06 – Real World
07 – Video Stars
08 – Broken
09 – Last Train…to Evermore
10 – Chasing Ghosts
11 – Lifted by Love
12 – Stay Up Late
13 – Walk the Dog

Guitars: Robbie McIntosh
Bass: Robin Mullarkey
Backing vocals: Katie Holmes-Smith, Andy Caine
Backing vocals: on 6: Marc Jordan
Vocals, keyboards, drums, bass: Ali Thomson



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.