SHERIFF – Sheriff [Rock Candy remaster +7] Out Of Print

SHERIFF - Sheriff [Rock Candy remaster +7] Out Of Print

As requested, now we have here a must-have record; Freddy Curci fronted SHERIFF self titled album Remastered & Reloaded by Rock Candy Records featuring as bonus the much sought after Sheriff rare live record, of which only 100 were pressed on vinyl LP back in the early ’80s.
This is one of the few Rock Candy reissues that turned out of print, so if you find a copy at a decent price, buy it eyes closed.

At the time of release, it’s fair to say that Sheriff was dismissed by music critics as yet another melodic Canadian melodic rock band deploying the kind of AOR that could be heard anywhere, anytime. One of a long list of similar sounding acts such as Loverboy, Streetheart and Coney Hatch.
But then, completely out of the blue, some seven years later, something rather unexpected happened…

SHERIFF - Sheriff [Rock Candy remaster +7] booklet 1

Initially issued in 1982, Sheriff’s debut album failed to ignite the public’s consciousness. Sure, it was a fine record with all the accoutrements expected of such work but the bands appeal was severely dented by inadequate promotion and a crowded market place.
Amazingly, in 1989 DJ started spinning the power ballad “When I’m With You”, a song that quickly gained momentum at virtually every radio station resulting in a US #1 hit single.
This was a unique and totally overwhelming event and one that made everyone reassess the Sheriff album in an entirely new light.

SHERIFF - Sheriff [Rock Candy remaster +7] booklet 2

Pompous and grandiose, Sheriff’s style is perfectly in alignment with all the great AOR bands of the early Eighties, offering up huge hooks, ripping guitar work and killer keyboard arrangements. The icing on the cake, however, is Freddy Curci’s amazing vocals, a man blessed with a range that evokes the greatest work of Freddy Mercury and Steve Perry.
This is a great 24-bit remastering from the original source tapes, including 7 bonus tracks, 3,500 word essay about the making of the album, band involvement and additional photos spread out over a 16 page full color booklet.
A Must Have


01 – You Remind Me
02 – California
03 – Makin’ My Way
04 – When I’m With You
05 – Kept Me Coming
06 – Mama’s Baby
07 – Crazy Without You
08 – Elisa
09 – Living For A Dream
10 – Give Me Rock ‘N’ Roll
11 – Intro / Mama’s Baby (Live) (bonus track)
12 – Kept Me Coming (Live) (bonus track)
13 – Living For A Dream (Live) (bonus track)
14 – California (Live) (bonus track)
15 – You Remind Me (Live) (bonus track)
16 – When I’m With You (Live) (bonus track)
17 – Give Me Rock ‘N’ Roll (Live) (bonus track)

Freddy Curci – vocals
Steve De Marchi – guitar
Arnold David Lanni – guitar, keyboards
Wolf D. Hassel – bass
Rob Elliot – drums

SHERIFF - Sheriff [Rock Candy remaster] (2012) back cover


Try here:

You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Unknown says:

    outstanding find!! incredibly amazing sound and feel from first track to last….

  2. Anonymous says:

    Nice find on this one! Are you familiar with a band called ZON, from this same era? There is a 2 disc release from them: Astral Projector/Back Down to Earth. Any chance you can review that one? Thanks!

  3. AOR Fan says:

    Another great Rock Candy reissue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.