HERICANE ALICE – Tear The House Down [Bad Reputation remaster] HQ *EXCLUSIVE*

HERICANE ALICE - Tear The House Down [Bad Reputation remaster] HQ *EXCLUSIVE* - full

HERICANE ALICE were poised for success in the ’80s glam metal world with their Atlantic Records debut ”Tear The House Down” but the timing was just “Too Late”, referring to the great song of the same name on this album.
They had the catchy songs, the sound, the looks, and a vocalist that was reminiscent of David Lee Roth, yet still came up short by arriving just a few years behind the hair metal tidal wave that marked the 80s music scene.
Great reissue label Bad Reputation has done a terrific remastered reissue of ”Tear The House Down”, obtaining a punchy, bright huge sound from it. Already a very well produced album, HERICANE ALICE never sounded better.

Formed in Minneapolis, Minnesota during 1984, the first formation of Hurricane Alice comprised vocalist / guitarist Leni DiMancari with Scott Werner of Ssister Max on bass and former Counter Attack man Rusty Miller on drums. Originally David Reece, then a member of Lillian X, later of Accept and Bangalore Choir, was asked to join but declined.
DiMancari, Werner and Miller relocated to Chicago with Frank Livingston and Head East’s Jeff Meyers to forge a new band unit dubbed Steele. Later removing Meyers from the formula the group, back in Minnesota, took on the Hurricane Alice title again and Bruce Nauman of The Employers was then drafted as lead singer.

The band was nominated for four Minnesota Music Awards and won the ‘Best band’ category in 1987. Early Hurricane Alice demos would include a cover of Golden Earring’s ‘Radar Love’. As Hurricane Alice a 1986 album had surfaced although only vocalist Bruce Naumann and Rusty James took the risk of relocating to Los Angeles. Leni DiMancari duly forged Rising Tyger with Ben Griffith on vocals, Joe Peterson on bass and the Montrose credited Steve Belino on drums.
Rising Tyger recorded an album, produced by Leonard Haze of Y&T, but the record never emerged.

Naumann and James hooked up with members of another act entitled Danger City to construct a new version of Hurricane Alice. These musicians included bassist Ian Mayo, a veteran of Counter Attack and Surgical Steel, plus guitarist Danny Gill. For a period the group operated as Danger City but then decided to capitalise on the tri-state following Nauman and James had fostered so switched to Hurricane Alice.

Hurricane Alice went on to ink a deal with Atlantic Records in 1989, but were forced to slightly alter their name to Hericane Alice just before the release of their one and only album, ‘Tear The House Down’ produced by Thom Panunzio at A&M Studios in Hollywood, in 1990 following objections from the Enigma signed outfit Hurricane.
The spelling of the new branding was in fact suggested by Fleetwood Mac’s Stevie Nicks, whom the band shared management with. A promotional video for the track ‘Wild, Young and Crazy’ was filmed and touring undertaken supporting L.A. Guns, Skid Row and Whitesnake.

Hurricane Alice’s days were pretty much numbered after the record was issued in 1990. A set of pre-production demos were laid down with producer Neal Kernon but Atlantic passed on the option. Following the band’s split, the rhythm team of bassist Ian Mayo and Jackie Ramos continued to work together, firstly in Bangalore Choir and then Bad Moon Rising.
Guitarist Danny Gill eventually recorded again with Marc Ferrari in Medicine Wheel, whilst vocalist Bruce Nauman had a solo project. Prior to that Nauman had, for a short period, linked up with Bobby Berg of Beggars & Thieves, Tom DeFile of Saigon Kick and Adam Wacht of Trouble Tribe but the relationship was fruitless.

In 2020, to everyone’s surprise, Hericane Alice reformed and released a mini album, Gotta Be Real.
And it was time to have a proper remastered reissue of ”Tear The House Down”, perfetly done by Bad Reputation Records.
We highly recommend this album to anyone who loves late 80s Californian glam metal / melodic hard rock.

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Wild Young And Crazy
02 – Bad To Love
03 – Dream Girl
04 – Tear The House Down
05 – Badboy Breakout
06 – Need A Lover
07 – Too Late
08 – Shake, Shake, Shout
09 – Crank The Heat Up
10 – I Walk Alone

Bruce Naumann – vocals
Danny Gill – guitar
Ian Mayo – bass
Jackie Ramos – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.