KING’S X – In The New Age, The Atlantic Recordings 1988-1995 [6CD Box Set / bonus tracks] (2023)

KING'S X - In The New Age, The Atlantic Recordings 1988-1995 [6CD Box Set] (2023) - full

Hear No Evil / Cherry Red are releasing “In The New Age, The Atlantic Recordings 1988-1995” containing six albums from Missouri trio KING’S X from their Megaforce and Atlantic Records releases from 1988 onwards – including bonus tracks.
Their CS Lewis-inspired debut Out Of The Silent Planet from 1988 introduced a hard rock sound fused with elements of psychedelia, funk, soul and gospel, becoming an important influence on the development of progressive metal and alternative rock. Critical acclaim followed; especially in the UK through the support of magazine’s such as Kerrang!
Although not strictly speaking a Christian Rock band, their records featured on Billboard’s Christian music chart, and their 1989 conceptual second record Gretchen Goes To Nebraska features themes of faith and spirituality.
The prolific band released their third record in three years with 1990’s Faith Hope Love, their first to break into the all important Billboard Hot 100.

Moving from Megaforce to parent label Atlantic in 1992, the self-titled King’s X sported a darker and more introspective sound than before and was their last to be producer by long time collaborator Sam Taylor.
Employing producer Brendan O’Brien (Stone Temple Pilots, Pearl Jam), King’s X switched to a heavier sound with 1994’s Dogman. Live versions of “Shoes” and “We Were Born to Be Loved” are included as bonus tracks.
Housed in a psychedelic cover design, 1996’s Ear Candy, produced with Arnold Lanni, was King’s X’s sixth album and final record for Atlantic before switching to Metal Blade records again.
A great box to have the best King’s X music together.
Highly Recommended


1 In The New Age
2 Goldilox
3 Power Of Love
4 Wonder
5 Sometimes
6 King
7 What Is This?
8 Far, Far Away
9 Shot Of Love
10 Visions


1 Out Of the Silent Planet
2 Over My Head
3 Summerland
4 Everybody Knows a Little Bit of Something
5 The Difference (In the Garden of St. Anne’s-On-The- Hill)
6 I’ll Never Be the Same
7 Mission
8 Fall On Me
9 Pleiades
10 Don’t Believe It (It’s Easier Said Than Done)
11 Send A Message
12 The Burning Down
Bonus Track:
13 Shot Of Love (Acoustic Version)


1 We Are Finding Who We Are
2 It’s Love
3 I’ll Never Get Tired of You
4 Fine Art of Friendship
5 Mr Wilson
6 Moanjam
7 Six Broken Soldiers
8 I Can’t Help It
9 Talk To You
10 Everywhere I Go
11 We Were Born to Be Loved
12 Faith Hope Love
13 Legal Kill
Bonus Track:
14 Six Broken Soldiers (Extended Version)


KING’S X (1992)
1 The World Around Me
2 Prisoner
3 The Big Picture
4 Lost In Germany
5 Chariot Song
6 Ooh Song
7 Not Just for The Dead
8 What I Know About Love
9 Black Flag
10 Dream In My Life
11 Silent Wind
Bonus track:
12 Dream In My Life (Edit)


DOGMAN (1994)
1 Dogman
2 Shoes
3 Pretend
4 Flies And Blue Skies
5 Black The Sky
6 Fool You
7 Don’t Care
8 Sunshine Rain
9 Complain
10 Human Behavior
11 Cigarettes
12 Go To Hell
13 Pillow
14 Manic Depression
Bonus Tracks:
15 Shoes (Live)
16 We Were Born to Be Loved (Live)


EAR CANDY (1995)
1 The Train
2 (Thinking And Wondering) What I’m Gonna Do
3 Sometime
4 A Box
5 Looking For Love
6 Mississippi Moon
7 67
8 Lies In the Sand (The Ballad Of…)
9 Run
10 Fathers
11 American Cheese (Jerry’s Piano)
12 Picture
13 Life Going By
Bonus Track:
14 Freedom (B-Side)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.