38 SPECIAL – Rock & Roll Strategy [Japan SHM-CD remastered] HQ *Exclusive*

38 SPECIAL - Rock & Roll Strategy [Japan SHM-CD remastered] HQ *Exclusive* full

As requested, here’s the excellent – now out of printremastered Japanese release of 38 SPECIAL album “Rock & Roll Strategy “, using the original US analog master tapes and pressed on high quality SHM-CD. It’s all done in wonderful cardboard sleeve mini LP replica, which also faithfully replicates the OBI design of the Japanese first pressing LP. And the clarity of the sound is impressive.
“Rock & Roll Strategy” is the eighth studio album by 38 Special, released in 1988, and their final record for long-time label A&M Records. It was the first album to feature the new vocalist and keyboard player Max Carl.
Carl brought some of his experience in the melodic rock field, and as happened with the previous 38 Special album, this “Rock & Roll Strategy” packs a sound typical from the second half of the 80s, a polished and clean production.

Don Barnes is no more in 38 Special here, gone to pursue a solo career, so Max Carl sings a lot of lead vocals and the sound is definitely different but still has the Jeff Carlisi guitar riffs (plus new guitarist Danny Chauncey) and the band rocks with bluesy melodies.
This album contained a Top 10 hit, “Second Chance”, which peaked at #6 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart, an AORrish number among our favorites.

Another great tune is midtempo “Midnight Magic” and the sweet melodic “Innocent Eyes” (with some Survivor on it) , and if you need bluesy rockers press play on “Comin’ Down Tonight”, “Little Sheba” or “Hot ‘Lanta”.
They end the album with the excellent “Love Strikes”, more of a rock&pop song with great atmosphere.

38 SPECIAL - Rock & Roll Strategy [Japan SHM-CD remastered] (2018) back

While 38 Special southern rock roots are still present in “Rock & Roll Strategy”, this is a mainstream rock album with a true 1988 American sound, mostly rock&pop / melodic rock oriented which will appeal fans of the genre and the overall ’80s sound.
This fresh Japanese remaster on SHM-CD is fabulous, crisp, pristine clear.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox



01 – Rock & Roll Strategy
02 – What’s It To Ya?
03 – Little Sheba
04 – Comin’ Down Tonight
05 – Midnight Magic
06 – Second Chance
07 – Hot ‘Lanta
08 – Never Be Lonely
09 – Chattahoochee
10 – Innocent Eyes
11 – Love Strikes

Donnie Van Zant – lead vocals
Jeff Carlisi – guitar, steel guitar
Danny Chauncey – guitar
Max Carl – keyboards, lead vocals
Larry Junstrom – bass
Jack Grondin – drums
Additional Musicians:
Robert White Johnson – percussion, background vocals
Edd Miller – percussion
The Noise Gator – horns
The Six Groomers – background vocals


sold out

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.