RUSH – 2112 [40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition newly remastered] *HQ*

RUSH - 2112 [40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition newly remastered] (2016) full

After celebrating over 40 years together with the same trio line-up, UMe continued the celebration of the RUSH catalog with the release of this 40th Anniversary expanded edition of the band’s classic album “2112“, featuring an awesome new remaster by Abbey Road Studios.
Also with a newly designed artwork by longtime Rush art director Hugh Syme, “2112 / 40th” includes an additional CD of rare, live and previously unreleased material including newly-recorded tracks from 2112 featuring Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters along with Nick Raskulinecz, Billy Talent, Steven Wilson, Jacob Moon and Alice In Chains.

The epic “2112” album which guitarist Alex Lifeson described as “the first record where we sounded like Rush,” is widely regarded as a crucial landmark in Rush’s body of work. Although it was the band’s fourth album, it’s generally considered to be the one on which the band’s epic sound and ambitious conceptual approach blossomed.
Resisting record-company pressure to focus on shorter, more radio-friendly songs, the band stuck to its guns and constructed the album’s seminal seven-part, 20-minute title piece, a conceptual suite set in a dystopian future.

In addition to its status as a creative landmark, “2112” was also Rush’s commercial breakthrough, becoming the band’s first album to reach the Billboard LP chart and the first Rush album to achieve Gold sales status in the U.S. (subsequently certified Platinum).
“2112” is one of two Rush albums listed in the book ‘1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die’, and it ranked second on Rolling Stone’s 2012 readers’ poll of “Your Favorite Prog Rock Albums of All Time.”

On Disc 1 you have a sumptuous remaster, the best version of “2112” we ever heard, warm lush waves of music flowing from the speakers. Geddy’s bass sounds superb, bubbling away underpinning the perfection that is Neil on drums with Alex never sounding better.
An excellent job done by by Abbey Road Studios.

RUSH - 2112 [40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition newly remastered] (2016) pack

Disc 2 features rare live tracks and previously unreleased material, plus newly-recorded covers of tracks from “2112”.
The covers are all really well done, especially Steven Wilson’s version of ‘Twilight Zone’, and the reformed Alice In Chains take on ‘Tears’, a beautifully crafted remake that may just be better than the original (I can’t believe that’s even remotely possible – but true).

However, the highlight on this disc is Rush’s previously unheard material.
The set’s rare recordings include ‘Solar Federation’ spotlighting the isolated Neil Peart vocals that close the song ‘2112’ in ‘Grand Finale’, two outtakes from the 1976 Massey Hall concerts including ‘Something For Nothing’ and a nearly complete 15+ minute performance of ‘2112’, as well as a recently-rediscovered live version of the album track ‘The Twilight Zone’ which has only been performed twice in the band’s long history.
The accompanying DVD is the long available on YouTube footage from Capitol Theatre, Passaic 1976, slightly better inpicture quality.

Packed in an excellent fold-out digipak with the original ‘Starman’ hand drawn logo with a superb booklet, this just released remastered “2112 / 40th” is a must.


DISC 1: “2112” Remastered
.. I. Overture
.. II. The Temples Of Syrinx
.. III. Discovery
.. IV. Presentation
.. V. Oracle
.. VI. Soliloquy
.. VII. Grand Finale
2. A Passage To Bangkok
3. The Twilight Zone
4. Lessons
5. Tears
6. Something For Nothing

DISC 2: Bonus Tracks
01 – Solar Federation
02 – Overture (Dave Grohl, T. Hawkins, N. Raskulinecz)
03 – A Passage to Bangkok (Billy Talent)
04 – The Twilight Zone (Steven Wilson)
05 – Tears (Alice in Chains)
06 – Something for Nothing (Jacob Moon)
07 – “2112” (Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake)
08 – Something for Nothing (Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake)
09 – The Twilight Zone (Live 1977 Contraband)
10 – 2112 (1976 Radio Ad)

Geddy Lee – lead vocals, bass guitar, keyboards
Alex Lifeson – electric and acoustic guitar
Neil Peart – drums, percussion
Hugh Syme – ARP Odyssey intro on “2112”, mellotron on “Tears”



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Jay says:

    Thnx a bunch for this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.