VAMBO – II (2023)

VAMBO - II (2023) - full

Pride & Joy Music never stops to surprise singing very good, exciting rock bands. If you’re a rock and metal music listener who thinks that after the ’80s there is nothing good or innovative in the industry, please stop reading. If, instead, you’re curious about a new group that has the right concentration of talent and wit to succeed, then please continue… because VAMBO is a band with nothing to envy to the great classic rock groups we all know too well.
They are about to release their second album, “II”, on October 20th, and honestly, there are so many good things to say I don’t even know where to start. We always compliment the production, the mixing and the mastering, and this is another band that has accomplished a very clear and balanced equilibrium, which we adore.
Then, we could move on to the huge range of styles they were able to display in the 12 tracks of the record – and believe us, VAMBO excels at all of ’em.

They hail from London and are always having to answer that no, they aren’t named after the Sensational Alex Harvey band tune. Vocalist/guitarist Jack Stiles’ father Ray was the bassist in 70’s band Mud and produced this second album. Cunningly titled by the way.
And it’s the 70s that feature as a theme, but in a positive way.
Firstly, I’ve come to the conclusion you can’t pigeon hole this band, apart from they are a rock band in the truest sense of the word.
You need to really listen to this album, I mean REALLY listen. It’s deep, not in a spiritual, hippy way, but it has layers. Each listen opens another layer.

Vambo was able to take many of the good aspects of classic rock and make them sound fresh, avant-garde and yet very well-structured. Tracks like “This Is Your Life” or “Sweet Christine” would be phenomenal if played at a live show or in the car singing by yourself with the windows rolled down. The atmospheres they create are relatable, fun but not cliché.

Dashes of the Sweet, early Queen, Zeppelin, are evident. This is a band that creates atmospheric sonic quality. Yes, quality. Each song has been crafted to hone its own feel.
Opener ‘Minute of Madness‘ sets the scene. An Arabic feel. ‘Love, Sun and Fire‘ is all groove and spaced. ‘Sweet Christine‘ is a jewel in a very well stocked crown. The vocals almost shimmer as they harmonise and the track moves like velvet over your ears.
‘Hey Willy‘. I should laugh at the title, but it’s full on rock, yet has those subtle Vambo touches that are becoming more and more evident.

‘Take My Hand‘ has textures of India. But not like you hear over a ruby in your local Indian restaurant. ‘Shake It Women‘ is danceable but in a rock way and is very Darkness, but in a Vambo-istic way. ‘Worlds Collide (Struggle for Power)‘ is a big shuffle.
Then the aforementioned ‘This Is Your Life‘ is riff driven, vocal rapped, groovetastic.

‘Oh‘, it’s a ballad, but not. It a film score wrapped up in 4 minutes 45. Serene, gliding like a swan. ‘Love Candy‘ is as about as base they get. Most welcome. ‘Shadows‘ closes the album with a monster mash up of guitar and bass grooving, yet always restrained and intriguing.

Honestly, we have been impressed that this is just Vambo second record. When it comes to their musical style, it’s quite mature, and they truly deserve a lot of credit because they prepared an amazing product for the world to listen to. The more we try to find a fault in this album, the more it sounds marvelous and surprising.
So if you’re in the mood for some rock n’ roll done in the right way, you’ll better listen to “II” when it’s released tomorrow.

Whether you’re a die-hard classic rock enthusiast or someone looking for a fresh take on the genre, trust us, “II” is an album that demands your attention and promises a musical journey filled with surprises.
Vambo is here to rock your world, and they’re doing it with style, grace, and a whole lot of soul.
Highly Recommended


01 – Minute of Madness
02 – Love, Sin and Fire
03 – Sweet Christine
04 – Hey Willy
05 – Take My Hand
06 – Shake It Woman
07 – Worlds Collide (Struggle for Power)
08 – Holy Lights
09 – This Is Your Life
10 – Oh
11 – Love Candy
12 – Shadows

Jack Stiles (vocals)
Pete Lance (guitar)
James Scott (bass)
David Flitt (drums)


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.