DEF LEPPARD – Hysteria [Japan SHM-CD new remaster / Limited Release] (2023) HQ *Exclusive*

DEF LEPPARD - Hysteria [Japan SHM-CD new remaster / Limited Release] (2023) HQ *Exclusive* - full

A few days ago Universal Music Japan started a new reissue campaign of DEF LEPPARD albums pressed on SHM-CD, a Limited Edition release on miniLP faithfully replicating the album first edition LP in miniature and the original Japanese OBI. This reissue differs from the previous (now sold out) SHM-CD reissues, as features a new remastering.
Hysteria” is a classic, one of the best selling albums in history, and one of the best produced. This album sounds terrific. Every track sparkles and burns. There is no filler. Mutt Lange gets full credit as a co-composer. He is, in fact, the sixth Leppard — the one who takes their riffs and choruses and assembles them into spectacular tracks.

There’s the relentless big drums; the dazzling guitar montages; the impeccable sense of structure and separation; the preternatural clarity.
None of which is to suggest that Lange could have made this album on his own. Def Leppard is a sharp, hot and dedicated stage band that really delivers live. Steve Clark and Phil Collen worked like a two-man guitar firestorm – note the pulsing slabs of sound they pump into “Rocket” and the keening leads on “Don’t Shoot Shotgun” and “Love and Affection”. Rick Allen (despite his accident) and bassist Rick Savage remain a formidable rhythm section, and singer Joe Elliott, this time out, has convincingly deepened his range.

So much time and energy was put into “Hysteria” production that it’s a great sounding / recording on any pressing / version.
Do you need another remaster? Well, this is the remastering supervised by the band and supposedly how they want to sound today; the bass is fuller and the whole sonics are more expansive. It sounds like the original vinyl LP with a modern punch.


【LTD SHM-CD】 2023
D E F  L E P P A R D /  H · Y · S · T · E · R · I · A

01 – Women
02 – Rocket
03 – Animal
04 – Love Bites
05 – Pour Some Sugar On Me
06 – Armageddon It
07 – Gods Of War
08 – Don’t Shoot Shotgun
09 – Run Riot
10 – Hysteria
11 – Excitable
12 – Love And Affection

Joe Elliott – lead vocals
Phil Collen – guitars, backing vocals
Steve Clark – guitars, backing vocals
Rick Savage – bass, bass synthesiser, backing vocals
Rick Allen – drums
additional personnel:
Robert John “Mutt” Lange – backing vocals
Rocky Newton – backing vocals
Philip “Art School” Nicholas – keyboards, Fairlight programming



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Snoopy says:

    Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.