BRUCE DICKINSON – The Mandrake Project (2024) *HQ*

BRUCE DICKINSON - The Mandrake Project (2024) - full

Renowned around the world as one of the greatest and most distinctive heavy metal vocalists of all time, BRUCE DICKINSON will be releasing a brand new solo album on 1st March 2024. Entitled “The Mandrake Project” it sees him reunited with long-time musical collaborator and producer Roy Z.
The Mandrake Project will be Dickinson’s seventh solo album and his first since Tyranny Of Souls in 2005. The new record is a dark, adult story of power, abuse and a struggle for identity, set against a backdrop of scientific and occult genius.
Musically, be prepared for a sonic assault, with Bruce in top form and offering a varied vocal performance, Roy Z sharp riffs and melodic solos, and the keyboards of Maestro Mistheria creating gloomy atmospheres.

As time passed, the idea of Bruce Dickinson going solo again became a pipe dream. Even if he did mention releasing an album, his busy schedule with Iron Maiden left little hope of a follow-up to ‘Tyranny Of Souls’. But the Englishman was tenacious and the miracle came with ‘The Mandrake Project’. Revolving around magic and resurrection, the album was written all over several months in collaboration with Roy Z, Bruce’s faithful accomplice.
The melancholy atmosphere is immediately gripping, rediscovering the spirit that made ‘The Chemical Wedding’ so strong.
‘Shadow Of The Gods’ and ‘Sonata (Immortal Beloved)’ are two superb, convoluted pieces, full of emotion. Bruce Dickinson takes on the role of storyteller, singing in the poised manner of an actor. There’s an ethereal quality to the music, underpinned by melodic, rousing solos that are full of feeling.

Beyond the dark aspects, there’s a theatrical edge. ‘Afterglow Of Ragnarok’, ‘Many Doors To Hell’, ‘Rain Of The Graves’ and ‘Eternity Has Failed’ are direct and catchy. Bruce doesn’t force his voice and this hard rock register, not far removed from Alice Cooper, suits him perfectly. The keyboards take pride of place, the choruses are simple and effective and the epic side is very much present, while Roy Z delights with his touch on some pleasing virtuoso solos.

The melodic side is even stronger on ‘Fingers In The Wounds’ and ‘Face In The Mirror’, where acoustic and piano work wonders. Bruce Dickinson excels in this ballad register. The choruses are splendid, as are the chilling melodies.

With ‘The Mandrake Project’, Bruce Dickinson has produced a fine work worthy of the greatest moments of his solo career. Backed up by Roy Z, he cleverly moves away from the Iron Maiden sound to produce a cinematic Heavy/Hard Rock that’s colourful and deliciously catchy.
The difference between this solo CD and the latest Maiden is that this doesn’t need repeated listens to enjoy it, it gets repeated listens because you enjoy it.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Afterglow Of Ragnarok
02 – Many Doors To Hell
03 – Rain On The Graves
04 – Resurrection Men
05 – Fingers In The Wounds
06 – Eternity Has Failed
07 – Mistress Of Mercy
08 – Face In The Mirror
09 – Shadow Of The Gods
10 – Sonata (Immortal Beloved)

Bruce Dickinson – lead vocals
Roy Z – guitars, bass, producer, engineer, mixing
Dave Moreno – drums
Maestro Mistheria – keyboards


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.