DIO – Ronnie’s Birthday Show (2024)

DIO - Ronnie's Birthday Show (2024) - full

DIO released a string of impressive albums during the Eighties, but in 1992, leader Ronnie James Dio and drummer Vinny Appice briefly re-joined Black Sabbath for a tour and the album ‘Dehumanizer’, following which DIO reformed and set about recording their sixth album, ‘Strange Highways’.
Released in January 1994 to fairly low sales but good reviews and reception from fans and critics alike, the group set out on the road for an extensive US and European tour.
On 10th July they performed at the Henry W. Maier Festival Park, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, for which the group put on a dynamic show featuring cuts from their latest record and from previous releases, including tracks Ronnie had composed for Sabbath and Rainbow.

Ronnie’s Birthday Show” was captured for live FM radio broadcast this superb recording is even the more exciting and fascinating as the show took place on Ronnie’s 52nd birthday, which was not overlooked as the concert ends with a finale rendition of Happy Birthday, sung by the rest of the band, the announcer and almost all of the audience.

The band delivered a blistering performance on tracks from their new album ‘Strange Highways’, previous Dio classics such as ‘The Last In Line’, ‘Rainbow In The Dark’, ‘We Rock’, ‘Holy Diver’ and favourites from Ronnie’s career with Black Sabbath and Rainbow – ‘Man On The Silver Mountain’, ‘Heaven And Hell’, and more.

The sound quality is very good for a bootleg, a silver pressed CD also available on vinyl 2-LP but not at streaming services.
So take a ride on “Ronnie’s Birthday Show” and be blown away by one of the greatest metal – hard rock bands of all time.
Highly Recommended


01 – Jesus Mary And The Holy Ghost
02 – Strange Highways
03 – Don’t Talk To Strangers
04 – Pain
05 – The Mob Rules
06 – Holy Diver
07 – Man On The Silver Mountain
08 – Heaven And Hell
09 – Evilution
10 – Give Her The Gun
11 – Stand Up And Shout
12 – The Last In Line
13 – Rainbow In The Dark
14 – We Rock
15 – Here’s To You
16 – Happy Birthday, Ronnie

Ronnie James Dio (vocals)
Vinny Appice (drums)
Jeff Pilson (bass, vocals)
Tracy G (guitar)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.