CRAZY LIXX – New Religion (2010)

Let the battle for swedish Melodic Rock supremacy begin!

Even though there are countless talented rock bands pouring out of Sweden these days, Crazy Lixx is clearly between the champions.

Crazy Lixx returns with their second full-length release, following the same formula that made “Loud Minority” an instant classic.

With the tight production of Chris Laney (once again) this relatively new band have a perfectly polished sound.

Occasionally I get the feeling that the band is being over-produced, but then they lay down a killer hard rock track and all is forgotten.

Few bands are able to capture the sound of the ’80s as well as Crazy Lixx.

It is the sound of huge sing-a-long choruses, furious guitar work (supplied by newcomer Andy Dawson, who replaced Vic Zino when he defected to Hardcore Superstar), and memorable songs.

Crazy Lixx do it all, whether it be full throttle rockers, mid-tempo melody or heartfelt ballads, these four guys have created the ultimate recipe for success.

“21 ‘Til I Die”, “Road To Babylon” and “Lock up Your Daughter” find the band at their rocking best while “Blame It On Love” has that obvious Laney feel dripping all over it.

Slowly but surely Crazy Lixx are stepping into Def Leppard’s shoes, filling the void that Lep vacated years ago. “My Medicine” and “Voodoo Woman” are perfect examples of that.

So there you have it, yet another great release from Crazy Lixx.

Will “New Religion” set Crazy Lixx above their Swedish counterparts? That’s hard to say, but the bar has been set awfully high!

If this truly is a ‘new religion’, bow down to your new maker — exceptional melodic rock.

01. Rock And A Hard Place

02. My Medicine (R.O.C.K)

03. 21 ‘Til I Die

04. Blame It On Love

05. Road To Babylon

06. Children Of The Cross

07. The Witching Hour

08. Lock up Your Daughter

09. She’s Mine

10. What Of Our Love

11. Desert Bloom

12. Voodoo Woman

Danny Rexon – vocals

Andy Dawson – guitars

Luke Rivano – bass

Joey Cirera – drums

Produced by Chris Laney

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.