KIZZ – Monster (2012)

KISS - Monster (2012)


KISS career has spanned almost 39 years and this year they are about to release their 20th studio album titled “Monster”. As with their last effort Sonic Boom the band invited no co-writers and founder and rhythm guitarist Paul Stanley co-produced the CD along with Greg Collins.

Stanley, along with co-founder and bassist Gene Simmons have continued to sport the same lineup for the last 8 years with drummer Eric Singer and lead guitarist Tommy Thayer rounding out the quartet.

The band’s first single “Hell or Hallelujah” was released to the airwaves on July 2, 2012. It is an up-tempo song that showcases Thayer’s strong and consistent licks delivered with that traditional Stanley vocal that Kiss fans have come to love.

Sung by Simmons, “Wall of Sound” has some nods to their Revenge album, while Stanley handles lead vocals on “Freak” and shares in the collective effort on the choruses and some of the verses.

“Back to the Stone Age” was co-written by all four members and all 4 have their imprint on this song vocally. Pretty good one.

“Long Way Down” is Kiss trademark, is a flowing track that bares everything that Kiss encompasses; a strong Stanley vocal performance and good harmonies.

“Eat Your Heart Out” starts out with the group doing an a Capella chorus, during which, you can really hear Eric Singer who has an underrated voice. Simmons takes lead vocal on this track, and if any song stands out as unique, I would say it’s this one.

Thayer commands lead vocals on “Outta This World”, nothing outstanding but he sounds natural and fresh.

Eric Singer has a song called “All for the Love of Rock & Roll”. As noted, his vocals are underrated and he shows what he can do with his voice on this song. His style of playing is a little different here, which earns some added attention.

Simmons’ bass pummels through the track “Take Me Down Below”. He locks in with Singer and leads this track on its way, lateraccompanied by Stanley. A potential single.

“Monster” is a more solid and consistent album than the previous ‘Sonic Boom’.

Even though this band has been together for 8 years now, this is only the 2nd studio effort between them. Seems the band is becoming more comfortable with one another and the results show on some tracks.

“Monster” does not pace itself: it’s a full-on aural assault from the first note, and doesn’t let up until Stanley lets out a final jarring wail on ‘Last Chance’.

It’s Kiss, and you know what to expect.

01. Hell Or Hallelujah

02. Wall Of Sound

03. Freak

04. Back To The Stone Age

05. Shout Mercy

06. Long Way Down

07. Eat Your Heart Out

08. The Devil Is Me

09. Outta This World

10. All For The Love Of Rock & Roll

11. Take Me Down Below

12. Last Chance

Paul Stanley – Guitar, Vocals

Gene Simmons – Bass, Vocals

Eric Singer – Drums, Vocals

Tommy Thayer – Guitar, Vocals

Pre-Order here;

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.