BLACKTHORNE II – Don’t Kill The Thrill (previously unreleased + bonus CD) (2016)

BLACKTHORNE II - Don't Kill The Thrill (previously unreleased + bonus CD) (2016) full

Alongside the reissue of all Graham Bonnet official albums, Hear No Evil / Cherry Red Records also released the band he was involved with, as BLACKTHORNE. This campaign included “Blackthorne II : Don’t Kill The Thrill“, the previously unreleased BLACKTHORNE album.
The band, a super group formed by Graham Bonnet (Rainbow / Alcatrazz), Bob Kulick (Balance, Kiss), Jimmy Waldo (New England / Alcatrazz), Chuck Wright (ex Giuffria / House of Lords) on bass and Fankie Banali (Quiet Riot) on drums recorded this album before split, and was shelved… until now.

“Don’t Kill The Thrill” features 11 unreleased Blackthorne tracks that were recorded in 1994 for a proposed second album. However, following the departure of vocalist Graham Bonnet the group disbanded, (later to resurface with David Glen Eisley as Murderer’s Row) and the Bonnet sessions remained unheard, until now.

But there’s more; Hear No Evil not only has included some bonus tracks, but also a complete Bonus Disc featuring never heard live Blackthorne performances. A true treasure to taste how these bunch of talented cats sounded onstage.

BLACKTHORNE II - Don't Kill The Thrill (previously unreleased + bonus CD) (2016) inside

As on the first album, “Blackthorne II – “Don’t Kill The Thrill” delivers strong, edgy hard rock tracks with a classy feel and melodic choruses. There’s some winks of what would be Murderer’s Row in a future.
Really good stuff rescued from the vaults.
Highly Recommended

CD 1: Don’t Kill The Thrill (previously unreleased)
01. Don’t Kill the Thrill
02. Wild Inside
03. Skeletons in the Closet
04. Dreamin’ in the Hideaway
05. Man in the Black Hat
06. Twist the Blade
07. Judgement Day
08. Insanity
09. Sanctuary
10. Paralyzed
11. Save Me
12. Afterlife / We Won’t Be Forgotten (Live 1994)
13. Hard Feelings (Live Foundations 1994)
14. Cradle to the Grave (Live Foundations Forum 1994)
15. Japan Sony Music TV Interview 1
16. Japan Sony Music TV Interview 2
17. Japan Sony Music TV Interview 3
18. We Won’t Be Forgotten (Acoustic in UK)

CD 2: Bonus Disc
Live at the Foundations Forum 1994
01. Desert Song
02. Breaking the Chains
03. All Night Long
Live at Fresno August 29th 1992
04. Wild Inside
05. Since You Been Gone
06. Hard Feelings
07. Wishing Well
08. Baby You’re the Blood
09. Will You Be Home Tonight
10. Breaking the Chains
11. We Won’t Be Forgotten
12. All Night Long
Acoustic – Live in Japan 1993
13. We Won’t Be Forgotten

Graham Bonnet: lead and backing vocals
Bob Kulick: guitar, backing vocals
Jimmy Waldo: keyboards, backing vocals
Frankie Banali: drums, percussion
Chuck Wright: bass, backing vocals


You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Thanks for the re-upload.
    Kind regards from Hong Kong Central District

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.