VAN HALEN – For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge [Japan edition remastered – Forever Young series] Out Of Print

VAN HALEN - For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge [Japan edition remastered - Forever Young series] full

Yesterday was the 30th anniversary of VAN HALEN‘s “For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge“, perhaps the most complete (and best) album from the Hagar era. Few people know – even some rabid VAN HALEN fans – that the Sammy Hagar-era albums have been remastered as part of the WB Records Japan ‘Forever Young’ series. These are the only remastered versions available of these albums.

All Van Halen albums from the Sammy Hagar-era have that bombastic, glossy ’80s production, but especially on the first two, the bass presence is scarce, typical from the era.
“For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge” production is more punchy on the low frequencies, but still a bass level up is needed on the original CD transfers / pressings.

On this Japanese remaster you get a higher overall (as it is the norm on most remasters) level, but fortunately not saturated / brickwalled. The waveforms are ever-so-slightly louder than the original US and Europe CDs, but extremely tasteful. The dynamics of the original CDs also appear completely intact.

The bass has been increased especially the harmonics, you can also hear Alex Van Halen’s kick drums with a nice attack, and the guitars are sharper.
Sammy Hagar’s voice sounds clearer – I would describe it as a little more definition – and best of all, no sign of heavy dynamic range compression like most of today’s remasters.

VAN HALEN - For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge [Japan edition remastered - Forever Young series] back

“For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge” is a darn rockin’, killer record, and this ‘Forever Young series remastered’ is terrific.
It’s not easy to find a copy and all are pretty expensive, but if you can afford the purchase you’ll be very happy. This CD sounds million bucks.


V A N  H A L E NForever Young Series

01 – Poundcake
02 – Judgement Day
03 – Spanked
04 – Runaround
05 – Pleasure Dome
06 – In ‘N’ Out
07 – Man On A Mission
08 – The Dream Is Over
09 – Right Now
10 – 316
11 – Top Of The World

Eddie Van Halen – guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
Alex Van Halen – drums, percussion, backing vocals
Sammy Hagar – vocals
Michael Anthony – bass, backing vocals
additional musicians:
Steve Lukather – guitars, backing vocals on 11


Out Of Print

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. DDT says:

    Extremely Grateful !

  2. Errrman says:

    Thanks! Love this album

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.