DAVID REECE – Universal Language [2022 reissue +4 bonus tracks] *0dayrox Exclusive*

DAVID REECE - Universal Language [2022 reissue +4 bonus tracks] *0dayrox Exclusive* full

Talented American singer DAVID REECE has made a fresh arrangement with English label Global Rock Records to reissue his out of print solo catalog with bonus tracks. “Universal Language” is Reece’s first album under the ‘David Reece’ moniker. The singer really shouldn’t need any introduction, he was the frontman for ACCEPT, BANGLORE CHOIR, GYPSY ROSE, TANGO DOWN, and more.
Don’t let the uninspired artwork fool you, the music on Universal Language [2022 reissue +4 bonus tracks] is anything but. This is bluesy melodic hard rock with top class musicianship. Reece is joined by excellent band mates in Andy Susemihl (U.D.O.), Jochen Fuenders (Holy Moses) and Stefan Schwarzmann: Drums (Accept / Helloween / Krokus).

In many ways, Reece sounds here so much like David Coverdale at times that it is uncanny, and other times I’m reminded of Glenn Hughes – a vocalist really can’t go wrong if he sounds a bit like those two legends.
The track list also show a wide spectrum of musical tastes, far more varied than Reece‘s previous recordings. Of course that means that there will be a few clunkers mixed in with the gems, but for the most part I am impressed with this album as you can tell it was a labor of love.

The album kicks off with the Whitesnake inspired “Before I Die”, which makes for a strong and melodic start. After the moody “All The Way” comes one of the disc’s highlights, “Flying Close To The Flame”. That track is up-tempo and has a killer chorus that anyone can sing along with.
“The River” is another cool track, which has a Warrant “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” type intro before tuning down, changing tempos, and then rocking throughout. “Rescue Me”, “We Were Alive” and the beautiful acoustic ballad “Queen Of My Dreams” find Reece singing from deep within his soul, and show that his voice has definitely stood the test of time.

David Reece could have played it safe with his solo debut CD ”Universal Language”, but instead has taken a slight detour. Fans of his previous works/bands will be able to find enough on this melodic rock CD to keep them happy though, even it isn’t a direct copy of his more well-known releases.
”Universal Language” represents David Reece expanding his horizons without turning his back on his past, and is a welcome addition to his recording legacy.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Before A Die
02 – All The Way
03 – Flying Too Close To The Flame
04 – Fantasy Man
05 – The River
06 – I’ll Remember You
07 – Rescue Me
08 – Once A Lifetime
09 – We Were Alive
10 – Flesh And Blood
11 – Queen Of My Dreams
12 – Yellow
13 – Angels
14 – When I Call Your Name
15 – Don’t Look Back
16 – David Talks About Universal Language

David Reece: Vocals (Accept / Bangalore Choir / Gypsy Rose)
Andy Susemihl: Guitar (U.D.O.)
Jochen Fuenders: Bass (Holy Moses)
Stefan Schwarzmann: Drums (Accept / Helloween / Krokus)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.